Recreation & Tourism Management

Photo of hikers going uphill

Contents

Books| Journals | Databases | Websites| Additional Guides | Librarian|

Books

Browsing: Many recreation and leisure studies books are located in the Library of Congress call numbers starting GV 1-200 on Floor 2 of the Oviatt Library. Additional locations possible are Reserve Book Room(Floor 4 East), Stored(ASRS East), and the Reference Room.  In addition there are many online books in the catalog. An example catalog record is the link to The national parks : shaping the system Here are the LC Classifications:

Floor 2   GV155-180   Travel and State, Tourist Trade, GV 1-200 Recreation, Leisure,

Floor 4  RJ505 Play Therapy, RM736 Recreation Therapy  SB480  National Parks

Searching: CSUN library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Following is only a select list of LC subject headings appropriate for research on topics for leisure studies and or recreation. There are many more related subject headings you will find when you do a subject search in the Online Catalog.  The following are subject headings which will take you directly into our Library Catalog.

Encyclopedias

Journals

The following are a select list of journals CSUN owns in paper and electronically.  The links to the journal titles go to the journal title's catalog record in our CSUN Catalog Periodicals and Serials Catalog. The catalog record gives you the call number for the journal in print and may also provides a link to the online journal when journal is available online. The library subscribes to several periodicals with assigned subject heading parks periodicals and recreation periodicals.

Databases

 The best way to find articles on a specific topic is to search in a database, most of which index thousands of articles in thousands of journals. Not all articles are available full-text online; some are in print only and some are not available from the Library except through Interlibrary Loan. To determine the availability of an article, most databases offer the FindText find text menu linkbutton.

Below are recommended databases for Recreation and Tourism Management . They can be accessed either from Databases A-Z, as well as from the Find Articles and Research Data Recreation and Tourism Management at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/RecreationandTourismManagement

Recreation and Tourism Management SimpleSearch
Search up to ten (10) Recreation and Tourism Management databases simultaneously. Note that NOT all databases are "multisearchable."

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) more about this resource

Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-

InfoTrac OneFile (Thomson Gale) more about this resource

Indexes over 9,700 journals with full text to over 5,000 journals, 1980-

PsycINFO (EBSCO) more about this resource

Indexes over 2,000 journals plus books and book chapters, 1987-present.

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega more about this resource

Cross-searching of Education Index with Full Text, General Science Index with Full Text, Humanities Abstracts with Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective and Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Index with Full Text, Business Index with Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

ERIC (CSA) more about this resource

Abstracts 775 education journals, ED reports, 1966-

Sociological Abstracts (CSA) more about this resource

Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications, plus book chapters, 1952-

Physical Eduation Index more about this resource

Indexes 293 journals, reports, conferences and more, 1970-; abstracts 2001-

Index of articles from the contents pages of over 22,000 journals, 1990-

ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest) more about this resource

Indexing, abstracts to articles from more than 2,800 leading management publications, full text for over 1,800 titles, information on 60,000 companies, plus business dissertations, 1971-

ScienceDirect SciVerse

Over 1,000 fulltext scientific journals and a growing list of chapters in books. Indexes a lot of tourism books at the chapter level.

ABI/Inform Trade & Industry (ProQuest) more about this resource

Indexes 750 full-text business periodicals and newsletters, 1971-

ProQuest Newspapers more about this resource

Full text access to over 600 US and international newspapers, hundreds of other news wires and news sources. Dates vary.

Los Angeles Times Historical more about this resource

Full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-1986).

LexisNexis Academic more about this resource

Full text news, medical, legal & business sources. Dates vary.

Factiva more about this resource

Dow-Jones and Reuters full text business services.

Oviatt Library Catalog more about this resource

CSUN University Library Catalog indexes books, periodicals, media and other materials held by the Oviatt Library.

NetLibrary

Provides access to thousands of electronic books that have been converted into electronic format from copyrighted, printed books.

Electronic Reference Books

Encyclopedia of associations http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b2637054

 

Websites

 

Additional Guides

 

Librarian

This page was created by and is maintained by Marcia Henry, Recreation & Tourism Management Librarian
Any questions or comments can be sent to mailto:mhenry@csun.edu.