LIBRARY INSTRUCTION GOALS
By the conclusion of the instructional session, students will be able to:
1) Describe the steps needed to locate databases on the Oviatt Library homepage.
2) Differentiate between scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles and popular literature (e.g., Time Magazine, The Economist, Newsweek, Harvard Business Review, etc.)
3) Identify 5 different databases that may provide information you can use for assignments.
4) Learn how to cite references using APA style manual. (NOTE: Students may use another style -MLA, U of Chicago, etc.- if mandated in their major). If they do not know, they should use APA).
5) Ask librarian about specific problems you are having (or have had in the past)finding scholarly articles.
6) Leave the library with a list of 3 articles for each assignment to “jump-start” your work and not procrastinate. Not all articles will provide the exact type of information you want or need. You have to read a lot in order to find ones that will work for you.
7) Be able to email articles to yourself at a desired location.
8) Access databases from off campus.
9) List 3 ways you can contact the librarian in the future.
Take home a handout designed by Marcia Henry for RTM courses to include in your course portfolio
- Learn How to do Library and Internet research: determine information need, choose best resources, develop a search strategy, understand keyword and subject searching, how to use boolean operators and truncation symbols, how to cite sources, and more.
- Learn how to use the Library Catalog to find books and periodicals (journals, magazines and newspapers), online encyclopedias, videos and more on your topic. For items we have in print in the library, you need the Floor number and call number. For material we get online, follow the link in the box that advises Available Electronically.
- Learn how to use OneSearch - start at Library homepage and type in a simple keyword search in the OneSearch box http://library.csun.edu
- Learn how to use: Databases by Subject Recreation and Tourism Management at http://library.calstate.edu/northridge/databases/subject/recreation-and-tourism-management . Also consider the Databases by Subject:Gender and Women Studies
- Learn to look for the Full Text and Find text links in databases which will help you identify if CSUN has access to the item.
- Learn about Citing your Sources at http://library.csun.edu/Guides/ResearchStrategies/CitationStyleGuides
- Oviatt Library's Citing your sources offers various examples http://library.csun.edu/Guides/ResearchStrategies/CitationStyleGuides
- Endnote Web a bibliographic management software which allows you to collect records, make notes, download a plug in for microsoft word which you can help you cite your resources
Check the Library catalog for the Journal of Leisure Research --
Library owns this journal in print (Floor 4) and online
catalog record for the Journal of leisure research online
Access Databases from Off Campus
Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. To access the databases from off campus, click the name of the database. You will then see a screen asking you to log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).
Check for Full Text Using Find Text
If the article isn't available full text in the database you are searching, click the button to see if we have access to the full text through another database or in print. A new page opens that will have one or more of the following links:
- Full text available via [database name]: Click to access the full-text online. If the link takes you to a publication-level page, you can navigate to the article by first choosing the correct year, then the correct month or volume number, then the issue, and then selecting the article from the displayed table of contents.
- We have this. Check availability in CSU Northridge Catalog: We have the article in print. Click to view the catalog record for the journal or magazine. You'll need to note the call number and then go to the fourth floor to get the article.
- Request document via Interlibrary Loan: We do not have the article online or in print. You can request the article via interlibrary loan (takes approximately ten working days).
For more information, see About Find Text.
Citation Formatting Tools
Citation managers are software that keep track of your sources and automatically format your citations in a variety of styles.
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.