The Oviatt Library's can help you find court cases, legal codes, and scholarly law review journal articles; as well as background information and definitions of terms.
Primary Sources: Court Cases & Codes
- LexisNexis Academic
- Click Look up a Legal Case to quickly locate a court case by name, e.g., United States v. American Library Association or citation, e.g., 539 U.S. 19.
- Click Search by Subject or Topic to search state and federal court cases, law review journal articles, U.S. and state statutory codes, regulations, and constitutions; and some international cases and legislation. Use Advanced Options to narrow search by date, jurisdiction, subject area, and segment (title, author, etc.).
- Supreme Court of the United States (The official web site of the Supreme Court. In addition to the opinions, you can also read or listen to recent oral arguments presented at the Supreme Court.)
- FDsys (Federal Digital System, U.S. Government Printing Office) (Includes recent primary sources of information from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the Federal government.)
- FindLaw Cases and Codes (Search U.S. and State constitutions, statutes, cases and more. Note: FindLaw is not completely free. If you are prompted for a credit card to retrieve information, don't do it! Use LexisNexis Academic legal research to find similar information about court cases or codes.)
Secondary Sources: Law Reviews, Interpretations of the Law, Reference Sources
- LexisNexis Academic
- Click Search by Subject or Topic, Law Reviews, and then use Advanced Options to narrow search by date, area of law, and segment (title, publication, summary). Select Content Type Legal Reference to search legal encyclopedias, such as American Jurisprudence 2d, and dictionaries.
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2d edition (Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics; cites relevant cases and statutes. Includes definitions of legal terms and more.)
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
- Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
- FindLaw U.S. Constitution: First Amendment (From the Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation.)
- FindLaw Legal Dictionary (Definitions of legal terms and legal usage from Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law, 1996.)
- Law Databases and Research Guides (Oviatt Library databases and research guides)