Secondary Education Research : Overview

Bonnie Ericson

1. Professional Resources And Government Information Including Statistics

County

State

Federal

General

The CSUN Library collects publications of the United States Government and the State of California, including many dealing with education. The publications in this collection include laws, statistical compilations, research reports and bibliographies. Much of this information is now accessible through the internet. For assistance in using this collection or locating information on the internet, please ask at the Reference Desk.

2.  Education Publications on the Internet

3.  Children and Young Adult Literature

Additionally, all Oviatt Library juvenile books can be found in the online catalog: Search the library catalog. The University's curriculum library for teachers of grades K-12 is located in the Teacher Curriculum Center (TCC). The TCC, located on the lower level of the Oviatt, is a resource library housing elementary and secondary textbooks; curriculum guides; children's and young adult's books; and kits. TCC materials are also included in the library's online catalog.

4.  Curriculum Materials

5.  Holidays and Festivals

6.  Handbooks and Encyclopedias

  • Educational Research; Methodology and Measurement: An International Handbook (LB 1028 E3184)
  • Encyclopedia of Educational Research. 6th ed. 4v. (REF LB 15 E48)
  • International Encyclopedia of Education: Research and Studies. 10v. (REF LB 15 I569)
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education. (REF LC 4007 E53)
  • Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness. 3v. (REF HV 2365 G35)
  • Handbook of Reading Research. 2v. (LB 1050 h378)
  • Handbook of Research on Teacher Education: A project of the Association of Teacher Educators. (ref LB 1715 h374)
  • Handbook of Research on Teaching. 3rd ed. (ref LB 1028 H315 1986)

7.  Master's Theses in Education

8. Citing Your Sources

9.  Tests and Measures

  • ETS Test Collection Catalog. (REF LB 3051 E79). Provides basic information, such as grade level, descriptors, abstract and availability source. Each volume highlights a particular subject area. Has author, test title, and subject indexes.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) Provides a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Offers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests are provided.
  • Test Critiques. (ref BF 176 T419) Contains reviews of the most frequently used psychological, educational and business tests..

Based on page created Mara Houdyshell