- ERIC (EBSCO)ERIC (EBSCO)
- Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
- ERIC (ProQuest)ERIC (ProQuest)
- ERIC (U.S. Department of Education)
- Counseling and Therapy in VideoCounseling and Therapy in Video
- SAGE Journals OnlineSAGE Journals Online
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO)Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Articles from over 550 education journals; indexing 1983-, abstracts 1994-, select full text 1996-Collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Trial access ends: November 1, 2012.Indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Coverage: 1929-1983.Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, and full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Tips for ERIC
The ERIC (Educational Resources in Education) database contains annotated references to journal articles issued monthly in Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) and non-journal material issued monthly in Resources in Education (RIE).
There are three primary publications formats which can be searched in ERIC:
- Journals ("EJ"): NO full text in database itself; follow FindText link to locate full text, when available
- Documents ("ED"): SOME full-text in database; follow FindText link to locate full text, when available
- Digests ("ED"): ALL full text in database
Among the subjects indexed in ERIC: Adult career and vocational education, information and technology, assessment and evaluation, language and linguistics, disabilities and gifted education, reading and communication, educational management, teacher education, elementary and early childhood education, urban education, higher education, etc.
- Sources indexed: Over 1,000 journal titles, full text of more than 2,200 digests
- Number of records: Over 983,000
- Dates covered: 1966 to present, updated monthly
...are NOT journal articles, but can be:
Curriculum guides & lesson plans guides, research reports, bibliographies, issue papers, instructional materials, and test evaluation instruments.
Document records contain:
- ERIC ID Number ("ED" number)
- Publication Date
- Number of records: over 430,000
- CSUN Library owns all ERIC documents on microfiche from 1966 to the present
...are NOT journal articles, but are:
Short reports (1,000 - 1,500 words) on topics current interest in education and are targeted specifically for teachers, administrators, policymakers, and other practitioners. ERIC Digests are generally useful to the broad educational community and are designed to provide an overview of information on a given topic, plus references to items providing more detailed information. Eric Digests are reviewed by experts and content specialists in the field.
ERIC Digests records contain:
- ERIC ID Number ("ED" number)
- Publication Date (easy to overlook; appears immediately before the title sometimes the month is shown, but often just a two-digit year appears)
- Number of records: over 2,400
- ERIC Digests are always available in full text
The Oviatt Library offers online ERIC access via three separate database versions:
Tips written by Mara Houdyshell