SimpleSearch lets you search the Library's article and reference databases in combination or individually. You can save results to download or email to yourself. CSUN users can log in to "My SimpleSearch Account" with their CSUN User ID and Password to save and tag results for later, and create custom database search combinations.
Click the link under any result to save it temporarily. Login to "My SimpleSearch Account" with your CSUN User ID and password to save the result for later.
If you login to "My SimpleSearch Account" you can organize your results by adding tags to them.
Note: "My SimpleSearch Account" saves only SimpleSearch search results. Results from Library Catalog searches or direct searches of the individual databases are NOT saved to "My SimpleSearch Account".
Downloading or Emailing Results
To download or view results saved temporarily, click My Saved Records
To download or view results saved previously, Login under "My SimpleSearch Account" and click My Saved Records.
In the right-hand column you will see several options:
- Email records to yourself: will include links to full text.
- Download to Text File: will include links to full text.
- Download to Endnote, Zotero, etc.: lets you download a file that you can import to Endnote, Zotero, or some other desktop citation manager. CSUN users can upload the file to EndNote Web use EndNote web to manage their citations.
Searching for Articles
To search for articles in a specific subject, select a link on Find Articles by Subject. Use SimpleSearch to search multiple databases by checking boxes next to the databases you want to search, then entering your terms in the search form.
If you login to "My SimpleSearch Account" you can also build a Customized List of Databases to search. To return to or edit your custom list, click My Saved Databases after logging in.
To search an individual database click the link next to it to get to a page with a search form.
- Search up to 10 resources simultaneously.
- Use fewer terms for best results.
- For more advanced search options, click the database name to search it directly.
- If the database checkbox is inactive, you must search it directly.
SimpleSearch shows you the Top Results first -- these are the top 30 most relevant results from each of the databases you searched.
You can narrow the results by database by clicking one of the links under "Results by Database" in the right-hand column.
Additional limits such as Topic, Date, Author, Journal and Subject are available in the Top Results view. You can also sort the Top Results by date, title or author.