- In addition to searching the databases below, if you know the name of a newspapers or another periodical and want to see if the Oviatt Library has it, search the Library Catalog by Journal Title . Note: any periodical title listed in the Library Catalog proceeded by [electronic resource] or [online] means that it is available in full-text via the Internet.
- Ulrichsweb.com (directory of periodicals, used to identify periodicals by title, subject; provide background information about the periodical, etc.)
- Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History (ProQuest)
- Full-text collection of the ethnic, minority, and native press, including Latino/Hispanic publications. Over 270 titles, 1960- present. To retrieve Spanish language articles, search in Spanish or combine Spanish and English with "or" to search both languages.
- Hispanic American Newspapers
- Digital archive of Spanish-language and some bilingual Spanish-English newspapers printed in the U.S. 1808-1980. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
- University of Arizona Libraries' digital collection of 20 significant Mexican and Mexican American publications, many in Spanish, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
- LA Beez
- LA Beez is an online collaboration of ethnic media organizations featuring hyperlocal news content covering the metropolitan Los Angeles area.
- LexisNexis Academic
- LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database containing news, legal, biographical, and business information. To search Spanish language news sources, click on News from the left-hand toolbar, select Foreign Language from the menu that is displayed, and change the Language menu to Spanish. Click the "i" button to get a list of sources searched in this group. Enter Spanish language keywords in the search box(es).
- Newspapers in Latin America
- This page has links to newspapers in Latin America and around the world, including Spanish-language newspapers in the U.S. Also links to broadcast media. Maintained by LANIC, the Latin American Network Information Center.
- El Nuevo Sol
- A bilingual (Spanish-English) multimedia website of the interdisciplinary program in Spanish-language journalism at CSUN.
- La Opinion
- The Oviatt Library subscribes to La Opinion online from 1992 to present, and on microfilm from 1926 to present. Note: Search using Spanish keywords only in Proquest Newspapers or Ethnic Newswatch for best results.
- ABYZ Newspapers & News Media Guide
- Exhaustive directory of links to newspapers and news media web sites arranged by region and country. Indicates the type of media (newspaper, broadcast, internet, magazine, press agency) and the media focus (business, general, sport, miscellaneous), as well as the language.
- Daily News (Los Angeles)
- The Oviatt Library subscribes to the Daily News online from 1989 to present in various databases, and in microfilm from 1981 to present. Under it's former titles: Van Nuys News and Valley Green Sheet, the Library has it on microfilm from 1911-1976 and as the Valley News and Greensheet from 1976-1981.
- Gale Power Search
- Simultaneously access 11 Gale databases to locate magazine articles, trade publications, academic journal articles, news, reference books, Web sites, and multimedia resources. Includes "Viewpoint" (pro/con) essays and topic overviews on controversial issues from Opposing Viewpoints In Context in the "Books" results. To find Editorials, select it from the "Limit by: Document Type" menu and then click Search.
- Health Sciences + Nursing SimpleSearch
- Particularly for JOUR 495GLH, search across health sciences and nursing databases for journal articles and the Library Catalog for government publications related to health issues in Latino immigrant communities.
- LexisNexis Academic
- LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database containing news, legal, biographical, and business information from over 12,000 publications. Click on Easy Search (default) or Advanced Search from the General Searching toolbar, or News from the toolbar to search newspapers and other sources of news. Note: Easy Search does not use Boolean (AND, OR, NOT) operators and searches large groups of the most popular news sources, such as newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire services. The News "All News" search option allows Boolean logic, searching within specific parts of a document (headline and lead paragraph, author/byline, etc.), and the ability to search more specific sources, such as "U.S. Newspapers and Wires," "Major World Publications," "Blogs," TV and radio news "broadcast transcripts," and "newswires." In addition, the News search, allows easy limits to reviews, editorials, and obituaries. Dates of coverage in LexisNexis vary by publication. NOTE: Due to publisher restrictions, Lexis Nexis Academic users may only access the latest 6 months of the Los Angeles Times. Use Proquest Newspapers for complete coverage of the Los Angeles Times online.
- Los Angeles Times
- The Oviatt Library subscribes to the online version of the Los Angeles Times from 1886 to the present via Proquest Newspapers. To search the current file from 1986 to present, select Proquest Newspapers, enter search terms and any relevant date limits, click the "more search options" tab, and enter "Los Angeles Times" in the publication title search box, then click "search." The Los Angeles Times Historical database provides cover-to-cover access from 1881-1986, including the advertisements and classifieds, in .PDF format.
- News Frontier Database
- Hosted by the Columbia Journalism Review website, the News Frontier Database aims to become a comprehensive, searchable database of online journalism sources.
- Newspaper Map
- A social media site that uses Google Maps to visually represent where newspapers are published. Additions and corrections are encouraged. Presents a geographic view of where newspapers are published as well as representation by language. Provides links to the news websites. An article about its use appeared in MediaBistro. Recommend using Mozilla Firefox as the web browser.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)
- Search or browse controversial issues. Features "viewpoint articles" (pro/con arguments), topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles; primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to web sites. Updated daily.
- Proquest Newspapers
- Full text for 500+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, and the Chicago Tribune, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires, including the Daily News. Click the More Search Options link from the main search screen to reveal choices for limiting by Document Type, such as editorial, speech, and review.
- Truveo--News Videos
- Free Web service showing up-to-the minute and older clips of news videos from a variety of U.S. and foreign sources.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)
- Indexes and abstracts over 600 journals and trade publications; includes full text for over 240 journals. Subjects covered include journalism, public relations, mass media, photojournalism, communication studies, speech, linguistics, communicative disorders, deaf studies, advertising, and related areas of interest to practitioners and educators in these fields. Dates of coverage vary by journal.
- Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCOHost)
- Indexes over 350 U.S. and international film and television periodicals, including popular magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. In addition, selected content is chosen from thousands of additional publications that contain relevant content. Dates of coverage vary.
- Academic Search Elite (EB)SCOHost
- Provides full text for nearly 1,850 periodicals, including more than 1,250 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 3,237 periodicals in the collection. This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including communication studies. Allows limiting search results to peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
- Chicano Database (FirstSearch)
- Over 54,000 items on Mexican-American and Chicano topics, 1960 - present.
- HAPI Online: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- Indexes more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Many of the citations are linked to full text. 1970 - present.
- JSTOR Latin American Studies
- Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in Latin American studies.
Developing a Search Strategy
- Once you have chosen a topic, write it down in the form of a question or brief statement:
What is the relationship between SAT scores and college success?
- Underline the key words and phrases that are most specific to your topic.
What is the relationship between SAT scores and college success?
- Write down each key word or phrase, and underneath it, list synonyms or related terms.
Use a dictionary or thesaurus to find additional keywords. For example:
- scholastic aptitude test
- Think about the singular, plural, and other endings of words and write down the root of the word.
- scholastic aptitude test
- college, colleges -- college
- university, universities -- universit
- success, successful, succeed -- succe
- achievement, achieve, achiever -- achieve
- Write down your key words and phrases along with their synonyms in the form of a Boolean search statement. Use the root word, and truncate it with an asterisk (*). Note: Different databases use different truncation or wildcard symbols. Check the database's help page. For example:
(SAT or scholastic aptitude test) and (college* or universit*) and (sucee* or achieve*)
Boolean operators are words (or, and, not) used to connect search terms to expand (or) or narrow (and, not) a search within a database to locate relevant information. Boolean operators are also called logical operators or connectors.
It is helpful to diagram the effects of these operators:
women or females
|Or retrieves records that contain any of the search terms. It expands the search. Therefore, use "or" in between terms that have the same meaning (synonyms) or equal value to the search.|
women and media
|And retrieves records that contain all of the search terms. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "and" in between terms that are required to make the search specific.|
image not weight
|Not eliminates records that contain a search term. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "not" in front of a term to ensure that the search will not include that term. Warning: Some databases use "and not" instead of "not." Check the database help screen.|
- Most databases allow for a symbol to be used at the end of a word to retrieve variant endings of that word. This is known as truncation.
- Using truncation will broaden your search. For example,
bank* will retrieve: bank or banks or banking or banker or bankruptcy, etc.
- Databases and Internet search engines use different symbols to truncate. In general, most of the Library's databases use the asterisk (*) ; however, the exclamation point (!) is used in LexisNexis. Check the database help screen to find the correct truncation symbol.
- Be careful using truncation. Truncating after too few letters will retrieve terms that are not relevant. For example:
cat* will also retrieve cataclysm, catacomb, catalepsy, catalog, etc.
It's best to use the boolean operator "or" in these instances (cat or cats).
Check for Full Text Using Find Text
If the article isn't available full text in the database you are searching, click the button to see if we have access to the full text through another database or in print. A new page opens that will have one or more of the following links:
- Full text available via [database name]: Click to access the full-text online. If the link takes you to a publication-level page, you can navigate to the article by first choosing the correct year, then the correct month or volume number, then the issue, and then selecting the article from the displayed table of contents.
- We have this. Check availability in CSU Northridge Catalog: We have the article in print. Click to view the catalog record for the journal or magazine. You'll need to note the call number and then go to the fourth floor to get the article.
- Request document via Interlibrary Loan: We do not have the article online or in print. You can request the article via interlibrary loan (takes approximately ten working days).
For more information, see About Find Text.
Access Databases from Off Campus
Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. To access the databases from off campus, click the name of the database. You will then see a screen asking you to log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).