Spanish Language Media: Find News

Spanish Language/Latino News | General News/Background

Overview

  • In addition to searching the databases below, a complete list of article databases by specific subject is available.
  • if you know the name of a newspaper or another periodical and want to see if the Oviatt Library has it, search the Library Catalog by Journal Title . Note: any periodical title listed in the Library Catalog proceeded by [electronic resource] or [online] means that it is available in full-text via the Internet. You will then be able to browse the publication by date or search within that publication for specific keywords.
  • Ulrichsweb.com is a directory of periodicals, used to identify periodicals by title, subject; provide background information about the periodical, links to publisher websites, etc.)

Spanish Language and/or Latino Audience News

Ethnic NewsWatch + Ethnic NewsWatch: A History (ProQuest)
Full-text collection of the ethnic, minority, and native press, including Latino/Hispanic publications. Over 270 titles, 1960- present. To retrieve Spanish language articles, search in Spanish or combine Spanish and English with "or" to search both languages.
Hispanic American Newspapers
Digital archive of Spanish-language and some bilingual Spanish-English newspapers printed in the U.S. 1808-1980. Based on the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
University of Arizona Libraries' digital collection of 20 significant Mexican and Mexican American publications, many in Spanish, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
LA Beez
LA Beez is an online collaboration of ethnic media organizations featuring hyperlocal news content covering the metropolitan Los Angeles area.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database containing news, legal, biographical, and business information. To search Spanish language news sources, watch this tutorial from Lexis Nexis.
Newspapers in Latin America
This page has links to newspapers in Latin America and around the world, including Spanish-language newspapers in the U.S. Also links to broadcast media. Maintained by LANIC, the Latin American Network Information Center.
El Nuevo Sol
A bilingual (Spanish-English) multimedia website of the interdisciplinary program in Spanish-language journalism at CSUN.
La Opinion
The Oviatt Library subscribes to La Opinion online from 1992 to present, and on microfilm from 1926 to present. Note: Search using Spanish keywords only in Proquest Newspapers or Ethnic Newswatch for best results.

General News Sources

ABYZ Newspapers & News Media Guide
Exhaustive directory of links to newspapers and news media web sites arranged by region and country. Indicates the type of media (newspaper, broadcast, internet, magazine, press agency) and the media focus (business, general, sport, miscellaneous), as well as the language.
Daily News (Los Angeles)
The Oviatt Library subscribes to the Daily News online from 1989 to present in various databases, and in microfilm from 1981 to present. Under it's former titles: Van Nuys News and Valley Green Sheet, the Library has it on microfilm from 1911-1976 and as the Valley News and Greensheet from 1976-1981.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database containing news, legal, biographical, and business information from over 12,000 U.S. and international publications. Enter terms in the main search box to retrieve news, cases, law reviews, and company information relevant to your search. Results can be sorted by date or relevance, and narrowed down by type of source (newspapers, company, legal, subject, geography, etc.) Click on Search the News to directly search newspapers and other sources of news. (Search the News does not allow the use of Boolean (AND, OR, NOT) operators and truncation and searches large groups of the most popular news sources, such as newspapers, broadcast transcripts, and wire services.) Click Search by Content Type and then Advanced Options to search withBoolean operators and truncation and to locate more specific types of news sources. NOTE: Due to publisher restrictions, LexisNexis Academic users may only access the latest 6 months of the Los Angeles Times. Use Proquest Newspapers for complete coverage of the Los Angeles Times online.
Los Angeles Times
The Oviatt Library subscribes to the online version of the Los Angeles Times from 1886 to the present via Proquest Newspapers. To search the current file from 1986 to present, select Proquest Newspapers, enter search terms and any relevant date limits, click the "more search options" tab, and enter "Los Angeles Times" in the publication title search box, then click "search." The Los Angeles Times Historical database provides cover-to-cover access from 1881-1986, including the advertisements and classifieds, in .PDF format.
News Frontier Database
Hosted by the Columbia Journalism Review website, the News Frontier Database aims to become a comprehensive, searchable database of online journalism sources.
Newspaper Map
A social media site that uses Google Maps to visually represent where newspapers are published. Additions and corrections are encouraged. Presents a geographic view of where newspapers are published as well as representation by language. Provides links to the news websites. An article about its use appeared in MediaBistro. Recommend using Mozilla Firefox as the web browser.
Proquest Newspapers
Full text for 500+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times, and the Chicago Tribune, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires, including the Daily News. Click the More Search Options link from the main search screen to reveal choices for limiting by Document Type, such as editorial, speech, and review.