Communication Disorders: Research guide for Speech, Hearing, Language

ComDisorders photo

 

[SUBJECT HEADINGS]

[CALL NUMBERS/LOCATIONS]

[DATABASES]

[JOURNALS]

[REFERENCE BOOKS]

[WEB SITES]

Subject Headings

CSUN library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings when . Following are a select list of LC subject headings appropriate for research on topics for speech and hearing disorders. Each LC subject heading is a link into our CSUN catalog. Review RELATED SUBJECTS when available for more specific subject headings. Remember to Sort Results by date to get the most recent books first. If you want to retrieve ALL books that mention the keyword(s) anywhere in the catalog record change the search from a subject search to a keyword anywhere.

To search for materials in other libraries, search

CALL NUMBERS/LOCATIONS*

Additional locations are: Nat Ctr on Deafness, Stored, Ref Room and don't forget all our electronic books!!

Floor 3

HV 1551-3024

People with disabilities. Including blind, deaf, people with physical and mental disabilities

Floor 3

LC 4001-4806.5

Handicapped children and youth. Learning disabled children and youth

Floor 4

RC 346-429

Neurology. Diseases of the nervous system including speech disorders

Floor 4

RF 110-320

Otology. Diseases of the ear

Reference Books - we have a growing list of electronic books.  Below are a select list of some classic titles. Check the Library Catalog at http://suncat.csun.edu

  • Audiologists' Desk Reference [RF294 .H32 1997 Ref, 2 volumes] - a thorough resource of information pertaining to audiology. Topics include speech audiometry, auditory brainstem response, and many others.
  • Comprehensive Dictionary of Audiology Illustrated [RF291 .S78 Ref] - contains over 7,000 entries which provide definitions of audiological terms.
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Language Pathology [RC423 .C656 1999 Ref] -- 60 signed entries divided into 6 broad categories on speech and language pathologies. Entries range from 2 to 10 pages in length, accompanied by a bibliography
  • Genetic Syndromes in Communication Disorders. (RB155.5 G46 1989)
    Illustrated, encyclopedic articles with long bibliographies.
  • Guide to Graduate Education in Speech-Language, Pathology & Audiology (RC 423 .G84 Ref)
    Information about the location, size, faculty and requirements of 240 colleges and universities offering Master's degrees in speech-language, pathology and audiology.
  • Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness [HV2365 .G35 1987 Ref, 3 volumes] -- 273 entries on people, organizations, and issues from a national and international perspective. Entries range from 1 to 12 pages in length.
  • Handbook of Clinical Audiology [RF 291 .H36 2002 Ref] - contains information pertaining to the topics of audiology and hearing disorders.
  • Handbook of Speech-Language, Pathology, and Audiology [RC423 .H328 1988 Ref] - a comprehensive source containing information on the processes and pathologies of speech, language, and hearing.
  • Reference Manual for Communicative Sciences and Disorders: Speech and Language [RC423 .K46 1994 Ref] - contains information on the subjects of communicative sciences and disorders and focuses particularly on the functions of speech and language.
  • Singular's Illustrated Dictionary of Audiology [RF290 .M464 1999 Floor 3] -- 4,500 terms on audiology and related areas are given brief, concise definitions, and around 100 terms are accompanied by illustrations.
  • Speech-Language Pathology Desk Reference [RF423 .R586 1998 Ref] - covers the topics of speech disorders, speech therapy, and audiology.
  • Syndrome Identification for Audiology: An Illustrated Pocket Guide [RC69 .S478 2001 Floor 3] - provides information pertaining to various genetic disorders and syndromes, such as down syndrome and Escobar syndrome
  • A Style Guide for Writers in Communication Disorders (R119 .S8)
    A guide to citation formats, it complies with the American Psychological Association's Publication Manual (1974) using examples from the area of communication disorders.

DATABASES

A list of recommended databases can be found in

Find Databases by Subject:Communication Disorders + Sciences  at

http://library.calstate.edu/northridge/databases/subject/communication-disorders-sciences

 

In addition, you can search a much larger selection of databases by using OneSearch at http://library.csun.edu

To assist you in finding the journal articles, the CSUN list of Electronic Periodicals and bibliographic databases offer Find Text SFXlinks. Periodical databases now provide full text access possibilities where the database is limited to citation or abstract.
If CSUN does not own the journal title you need, you may request articles using the Interlibrary Loan service at http://illiad.csun.edu/.

Databases

PubMed more about this resource

Offers Medline (currently indexing over 5,000 journals), several molecular biology and chemical databases. Some full text journals and books, 1950-

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) more about this resource

Indexes over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from 1,600 journals; provides full-text access to many journals and other sources, 1937-

ERIC (is now also available on Proquest) more about this resource

Abstracts 775 education journals, ED reports, 1966-

Oviatt Library Catalog more about this resource

CSUN University Library Catalog indexes books, periodicals, media and other materials held by the Oviatt Library.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) more about this resource

Abstracts over 1,500 serials in language studies and linguistics. 1973-

PsycINFO (EBSCO) more about this resource

Indexes over 2,000 journals plus books and book chapters, 1987-present.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) more about this resource

Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-

 

Gale Power Search more about this resource

Searches several Gale databases including Health Reference center Academic, indexes over 10,000 journals with full text to over 7,000 journals, 1980-

Wilson OmniFile Full Text Mega is now on EbsacoHost more about this resource

Cross-searching of Education Index with Full Text, General Science Index with Full Text, Humanities Abstracts with Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective and Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Index with Full Text, Business Index with Full Text, Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text.

INSPEC (Engineering Village) more about this resource

Abstracts 5,000 journals and conference proceedings in physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology, 1969-

Cochrane Library (Wiley) more about this resource

Several evidence based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews.

Communication & Mass Media (EBSCO) more about this resource

Abstracts over 600 journals in communication studies, speech, mass media, journalism, linguistics, and communicative disorders. Full text for more than 240 journals. Dates vary, 1915-

ScienceDirect (Elsevier) more about this resource

Index with abstracts to over 1,700 scientific journals published by Elsevier; with full-text access to over 1,400 journals.

Ovid Journals

Wiley Interscience more about this resource

Access to over 300 full-text journals published by J. Wiley, 1993-

LexisNexis Academic more about this resource

Full text news, medical, legal & business sources. Dates vary.

 

WorldCat This links into a CSUN subscription database which offers Find text for ease in ordering books we do NOT own using Find Text menu link to Interlibrary Loan more about this resource

OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Contains over 62 million records for all types of materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries.

Cal State Union Catalog  Past names are Collections of the California State University Libraries

Collections of the California State University Libraries.

 

JOURNALS

To see if CSUN owns a journal, Please check both of the following: Online Library Catalog Periodical Title Search

To assist you in finding the journal articles, the CSUN list of Electronic Periodicals and bibliographic databases offer SFX links. Periodical databases now provide full text access possibilities where the database is limited to citation or abstract.
If CSUN does not own the journal title you need, you may request articles using the Interlibrary Loan service at http://illiad.csun.edu/.

WEB SITES

This page was created by Marcia Henry. Any questions or comments can be sent to Marcia Henry or call (818) 677-3012

Communication Disorders Databases

Our new discovery tool, OneSearch, searches 150 databases simultaneously, but there are times you want to use the native interface of our databases. For example,  in the case of PubMed, this is a free database you can continue to use after you graduate.  In the case of CINAHLPlus with Full Text (EbscoHost) you have more control over refining your search strategy.

Abstracts, Indexes, Library Catalogs

Full Text Databases

Reference Encyclopedias

Library Catalogs