The following databases and sources contain many full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals. If the full-text is not available for the article you want to see, click the blue and red button or the "Find Text" link to see if the full-text is available in another database.
- General OneFile
- Academic Search Elite
- ProQuest Newspapers
- CQ Researcher
- Opposing Viewpoints Research Center
Start at the library's home page, http://library.csun.edu, and click "Find Articles and Research Data." Then click "General/Multi-subject" or "News & Current Issues" to access the databases above.
Evaluating Search Results
Once you find an article, it is important to critically evaluate it to see if you can use it for your research purposes. Listed below are things to think about when trying to determine the value of a particular article:
- Skim the list of article citations: Do your keywords appear in any of them?
- Read article abstracts (or summaries): How well does each article pertain to your topic?
- Consider the currency of each citation--when was the article published? This will be more or less important, depending on your topic.
Accessing Library Resources from Off Campus
As a CSUN student you can access most databases from off campus, anywhere around the world. You just need to make sure you have your moodle username and password. When you click on a database from off campus, you'll see the following screen. When you've entered the ID and password information, you'll be redirected to the database