von Mayrhauser ANTH 303

This guide has been archived and may have outdated information or broken links.

Background Information

Getting some background information before you start researching will help you focus your topic and give you an idea of what to look for in your search. Here are some Reference Databases you can use to get a basic understanding of your topic.

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Over 100 encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources.

Anthropological Theories: An introduction to a number of theories, written by grad students at the University of Alabama

The Oviatt Library's print reference collection is located on the first floor and contains subject-specific encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Keyword Brainstorming

Before you start your research, brainstorm some broader, narrower and/or related keywords to help with your research. These keywords can come from your own knowledge of your topic or from searching background information.

Let's say I am in the beginning stages of my research on queer Chicana families in Southern California:

Main Keyword 1 Main Keyword 2 Main Keyword 3 Main Keyword 4
Chicana queer Southern California feminist
Latina gay Los Angeles intersectionality
Mexican-American lesbian Orange County Judith Butler
Hispanic LGBT San Diego queer theory

Once you have some Main Keywords, think of specific concepts to focus on: healthcare, workplace discrimination, child rearing, etc. Do some Topic Exploration to come up with these and similar concepts.

___________________________

You might also take some time to think about what kinds of information you need and the resources you should be using to get that information. Here are some examples:

Historical resources: newspaper articles from the time period, census data, letters, oral histories
Critical analysis: scholarly articles, books 
Definitions and Background Information: biographies, subject encyclopedias, theories (i.e. queer theory, feminist theory, etc.)

Using AND & OR in a Database

Databases search differently than most search engines. Once you've brainstormed your keywords, you can use the words AND & OR to manipulate your search. Here is an example from the Academic Search Premier database:

 first search box includes terms chicana or latina or "mexican-american", second box separated by AND includes terms california or "los angeles", third search box is separated by AND includes terms marriage or child* or family

Librarian tips & tricks! Putting your search term in quotation marks will make sure the database only searches those two terms right next to each other, like "Mexican-American". Including an asterisk (*) will truncate your keyword, so child* will search for child, children, etc.

Remember- AND narrows your search while OR broadens it. Think of it like a Venn Diagram:

AND OR
Venn diagram showing two overlapping circles with overlap highlighted Venn diagram showing two ovelapping circles where both circles are entirely highlighted
Returns results with all of your keywords Returns results with any of your keywords

Find Articles in Databases

The Anthropology subject guide gives you a brief overview of anthropology sources held at the library. Below are some more recommendations.

General/Multi-Subject Databases: These will bring back results from different disciplines and sources

General OneFile
Academic Search Elite
LexisNexis

Subject Databases: These will bring back results from a specific discipline:

Anthropology Databases

Anthropology Plus: Scholarly articles and more covering the 19th century to present

America: History & Life: Articles as well as dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada

CINAHL Plus: Nursing and health articles

Sociological Abstracts: Over 1,600 serials publications, plus book chapters in the field of sociology

Consider using databases from other disciplines by browsing the Find Articles by Subject page.

If you need an article or book that we don't have, we can order it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.

Get Help

Your instructor:
Anna Fidgeon
annaliese.fidgeon@csun.edu
818-677-4729

Ask A Librarian: Get help by text, e-mail, phone or in-person

Writing Sources

AAA Style Guide PDF: Use ctrl+F or command+F to find the resource you are citing

The Writing Center: Make an appointment with a writing consultant to help with all stages of writing

Plagiarism Explained

Find Sources Using the Library's OneSearch Tool

Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:

CRAAP Test

It is important to evaluate your sources- even if they're scholarly. Use the CRAAP test as a guideline. This video will explain:

What is a Scholarly Article?

Unsure about what it means when an article is scholarly? This video will explain:

Find an Article From a Citation

Learn more about the components of a citation and how to find an article using one at the Research Therapy Series' Finding an Article From a Citation.

Accessing Library Resources through Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Click on Settings

A screenshot of the home page of the Google Scholar website, with the Google logo and search box. A red arrow is pointed to the link for Settings in the upper right hand corner.

Select Library Links

A screenshot of the upper-left hand corner of the Google Scholar Settings page. There is a list of links for Scholar settings for "search results", "language" and "library links". A red arrow is pointed at "library links"

Search for CSUN, check the box and Save

Screenshot of Google Settings, Library Links page with a search box in the middle showing a search for "CSUN" and the results listing "Open WorldCat- Library Search" and "CSU, Northridge- SFX Find It at CSUN". Both results show a checkmark in the box to their left, with the "CSU Northridge" checkbox circled in red. A red arrow is pointed at the "CSU, Northridge" result and another red arrow is pointed at the Save box at the bottom-right of the results.

If an article is available through a library database, you'll be able to access it by clicking on SFX Find It at CSUN

A screenshot of a Google Scholar Results page, zoomed in on the options to the left of two articles. Links that say "SFX Find It at CSUN" are circled in red.