Bibliography, Methods and Historiography of Art History: Reference

Dictionaries

The following are selected art dictionaries held in the Library's collections. You may also want to try searching the Library Catalog using keywords such as art and dictionary.

Dictionaries -- Artists' Names

Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Künstler : von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart / Thieme, Becker.

Dictionary of painters and engravers / Bryan.

Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs de tous les temps et de tous les pays / Benezit.

Index to artistic biography / Havlice.

Union List of Artists Names (ULAN)

Dictionaries -- General

Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms / Michael Clarke.

From abacus to Zeus : a handbook of art history / James Smith Pierce.

Grove's dictionary of art (also available online as Oxford Art Online)

Yale dictionary of art and artists / Erika Langmuir.

Encyclopedias

The following are selected art encyclopedias held in the Library's collections. You may also want to try searching the Library Catalog using keywords such as art and encyclopedia.

Finding Online Reference Books

View a complete list of Electronic Encyclopedias in the Oviatt Library Catalog

To limit the list by subject or title:

  1. Click the Modify Search button.
  2. In the Keyword Search screen, type subject or title words in the second search box (under "encyclopedias").
  3. Click the Submit Search button. (Note: once you've modified the search, it will list both online and print encyclopedias. You can recognize an online encyclopedia by the [electronic resource] tag after the title.)

Search Credo Reference for online reference sources: