Assistive Technologies (Health and Human Services): A CSUN Oviatt Library Research Guide

Books about Assisstive Technologies

Browsing Books on Assisstive Technologies my be classified in the Library of Congress call number starting with Q and/ or R and/or T on Floor 3 of the Oviatt Library. Additional locations possible are Reserve Book Room(Floor 4 East), Stored(ASRS East), and the Reference Room. Floor 2 may also have health related material in K (Law), LB (Education). Check catalog for Floor and call numbers. There are a growing number of electronic books.  AHere is a link to search for only ebooks on the terms assistive technologies -   assistive technolog* limited to ebooks

Searching:  Use the Library Catalog to find books on a topic. If you don't know a specific title, then start with a KEYWORD search. The following links search the catalog with  SUBJECT HEADINGS

Self Help Devices for People with Disabilities

Biomimetics

Prosthesis

Journals

To see if CSUN owns a journal, Please check

  1. Online Library Catalog Periodical Title Search

To assist you in finding the journal articles, the CSUN list of Electronic Periodicals and bibliographic databases offer SFX links. Periodical databases now provide full text access possibilities where the database is limited to citation or abstract.
If CSUN does not own the journal title you need, you may request articles using the Interlibrary Loan service at http://illiad.csun.edu/.

An example of a journal we subscribe to currently online is:

Databases

The best way to find articles on a specific topic is to search in a database, most of which index thousands of articles in thousands of journals. Not all articles are available full-text online; some are in print only and some are not available from the Library except through interlibrary loan. To determine the availability of an article, most databases offer the FindText find text menu linkbutton.  If you are looking for a very specific article you can fill out Looking for a specific article? at http://library.csun.edu/FindResources/ArticlebyTitle

Below are recommended databases for Health Sciences and Engineering . They can be accessed either from Databases A-Z, as well as from the Databases by Subject: Health Sciences+ Nursing  at  http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/health-sciences-nursing  and/or  FindArticles by Subject: Engineering at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/engineering

The following list is provided for as a class handout.

Assistive Technologies

Databases
  • PubMed/Medline more about this resource
    Offers Medline (currently indexing over 5,000 journals), several molecular biology and chemical databases. Some full text journals and books, 1950-
  • Medline is also available to CSUN through ISI Web of Knowledge and Ovid interfaces.
  • Large general databases with a lot of full text articles such as
    • CINAHLPlus with Full Text
    • Academic Search Elite
    • General OneFile (offers an MP3 file to listen to article)
    • Wilson Omnifile
    • ScienceDirect
  • Google Scholar  - remember to add CSUN as your library so SFX can add a lookup at CSUN for some items
  • Google Books  - a search in google books migh identify some useful books without showing you enogh of the text, but you can check our catalog to see if CSUN owns the book

Websites

Additional Research Guides

Librarian

Marcia Henry is the Oviatt librarian who serves the CSUN Department of Health Science. If you need help finding information for a research paper, she can offer suggestions. To make an appointment, email marcia.henry @csun.edu or phone 818-677-3012818-677-3012818-677-3012                                                                                                            

 

Christina Mayberry is the Oviatt librarian who is in charge of Biology and Engineering. To make an appointment with Christina, email christina.mayberry@csun.edu or phone 818-677-4130818-677-4130818-677-4130818-677-4130818-677-4

Christina Mayberry's webpage is http://library.csun.edu/cmayberry/

Marcia Henry created and maintains this webpage, so report problems to mhenry @csun.edu