Central American Studies Guide: Overview

Jump to: Types of Resources | Ideas for Topics | Finding Articles in Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers | General Reference Sources | Statistics and Demographics | Citing Your Sources | Plagiarism

 

Getting Started -- Books and Media

To browse the library's lastet holdings (books and media) with keywords related to Central American Studies in the title of the book or video via the Oviatt Library Catalog - Central American Studies.  Since the link is long, you can bookmark http://tinyurl.com/cascsun on your browser.

Types of Resources

http://library.csun.edu/Guides/ResearchStrategies/GettingStarted - Be alert to the need or requirement for specific types of information such as primary and secondary or scholarly or credible.  There are specific research tools that may assist in the search for required types of information. 

Keywords : Central America/ns

Information on the topic of Central Americans may be found using a variety of search terms combined with any or all of the following terms which can be used to identify a specific group:

  • Hispanics
  • Hispanic Americans
  • Hispanic American women
  • Latino
  • Latinos
  • Latinas
  • Central Americans

In the library catalog or article databases, copy and paste any of the terms below to help locate materials helpful to your research.

"central america" or Belize or "Costa Rica" or "El Salvador" or salvadoran or Guatemala* or Hondura* or Nicaragua* or Panama*

  • Belize OR Belizean OR Beliciano(a)*
  • "Costa Rica" OR "Costa Rican" OR Costarriqueño(a)
  • "El Salvador" OR Salvadoran OR Salvadoreño(a)
  • Guatemala OR Guatemalan OR Guatemalteco(a) OR Guatematelco(a)
  • Honduras OR Honduran OR Hondureño(a)
  • Nicaragua OR Nicaraguan OR Nicaragüense OR Nicaragüeño(a)
  • Panama OR Panamanian OR Panameno(a)

* National language of Belize is English, so the Spanish of Belizean would be used only by Spanish speakers.

 

Ideas for Topics

Specialized Sources (on the surface/free web)

Finding Articles in Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

Consult the "Databases by Subject" on the Oviatt Library homepage for additional indexes. You should also use (How to Locate Articles Online or in the Library)

Specialized indexes to articles – Use the “Databases A-Z” linked on the Oviatt Library home page to link to these:

General indexes to articles – Use the “Databases A-Z” linked on the Oviatt Library home page to link to these:

  • Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) more about Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-
  • America: History & Life (EBSCO)  History & Life (EBSCO) Indexes 1,700 journals as well as dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. 1964-
  • General OneFile (Gale) more about General OneFile (Gale) Indexes over 9,700 journals; full text to over 5,000 journals, 1980-
  • CountryWatch more about CountryWatch News, statistics and trends for 192 countries.
  • GenderWatch more about GenderWatch Publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, 1970-
  • JSTOR Latin American Studies Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in Latin American studies.

General Reference Sources

Statistics and Demographics

Government Information Sources

Citing Your Sources

Avoiding Plagiarism

 

Asociación para el Fomento de los Estudios Históricos en Centroamérica
http://www.afehc-historia-centroamericana.org/index.php

Cronología
http://www.afehc-historia-centroamericana.org/index.php?action=crono

 

Central American Subject Headings - General

Indians of Central America