de las Carreras, Maria Elena CTVA 416

This guide has been archived and may have outdated information or broken links.

Search Tool Suggestions

Task Librarian suggests...

Choose two films from list, find newspaper/magazine review for each...

OneSearch

Cinema + Television databases

and one interview with its director

OneSearch

Cinema + Television databases

At least two of these four pieces should be from the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Variety, Newsweek, Time magazine and The New Yorker.

Try websites (nytimes.com, latimes.com, etc)

Google

Journal Search

Choose one director from the films screened in class & write, using your own words, a short biography

Reference Resources

Biography Index

Webistes on assignment

Choose a documentary film or a documentary filmmaker, excluding the ones you've already chosen, compile a bibliography listing at least five relevant entries

OneSearch

General OneFile

Cinema + Television databases

Worldcat

Utilizing the online catalogs of the UCLA or UC Berkeley libraries, compile a 5-item bibliography on survey histories of the documentary cinema Subject: documentary films history and criticism
Choose any of the filmmakers from the course or the Viewing List, excluding those you have chose already, find one scholarly or general interest magazine article that offers a critical assessment of this director’s career.  Photocopy or print out the article

OneSearch

Cinema + Television databases

Using at least two sources write a short description (no more than two paragraphs) about any of the documentary series regularly shown on PBS

OneSearch

Reference Resources

Cinema + Television databases

International Motion Picture Almanac

 

Get Help

Your instructor:
Anna Fidgeon
annaliese.fidgeon@csun.edu
818-677-4729

CTVA Librarian:
Lindsay Hansen
lindsay.hansen@csun.edu
818-677-7147

Ask A Librarian: Get help by text, e-mail, phone or in-person
Online How-To Guides and Tutorials

Writing Sources

Citing Your Sources: Get help with MLA Style Citations

The Writing Center: Make an appointment with a writing consultant to help with all stages of writing your paper.

Plagiarism Explained

Find Sources Using the Library's OneSearch Tool

Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:

Accessing Library Resources through Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Click on Settings

A screenshot of the home page of the Google Scholar website, with the Google logo and search box. A red arrow is pointed to the link for Settings in the upper right hand corner.

Select Library Links

A screenshot of the upper-left hand corner of the Google Scholar Settings page. There is a list of links for Scholar settings for "search results", "language" and "library links". A red arrow is pointed at "library links"

Search for CSUN, check the box and Save

Screenshot of Google Settings, Library Links page with a search box in the middle showing a search for "CSUN" and the results listing "Open WorldCat- Library Search" and "CSU, Northridge- SFX Find It at CSUN". Both results show a checkmark in the box to their left, with the "CSU Northridge" checkbox circled in red. A red arrow is pointed at the "CSU, Northridge" result and another red arrow is pointed at the Save box at the bottom-right of the results.

If an article is available through a library database, you'll be able to access it by clicking on SFX Find It at CSUN

A screenshot of a Google Scholar Results page, zoomed in on the options to the left of two articles. Links that say "SFX Find It at CSUN" are circled in red.