Christolear ENG 113B

Background Information

Getting some background information before you start researching will help you focus your topic and give you an idea of what to look for in your search. Here are some Reference Databases you can use to get a basic understanding of your topic.

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Over 100 encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference sources.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Features viewpoint articles, and topic overviews on controversial topics.

Keyword Brainstorming

Before you start your research, brainstorm some broader, narrower and/or related keywords to help with your search. These keywords can come from your own knowledge of your topic or from searching background information.

My argument: Reality television showcases a high level of weight bias, which in turn affects young viewers' body image negatively.

Main Keyword 1 Main Keyword 2 Main Keyword 3
reality television weight bias young adults
reality shows body image viewers
The Biggest Loser eating disorders young men
What Not to Wear thin ideal young women
  obesity  

Using AND & OR in a Database

Databases search differently than most search engines. Once you've brainstormed your keywords, you can use the words AND & OR to manipulate your search. Here is an example from the Academic Search Premier database:

 First search line is a keyword search for "reality television" or "reality shows" or "the biggest loser"; second line is separated by And in a drop down menu and is a keyword search for weight or "body image" or "eating distorders"; third line is separated by And in a drop down menu and is a keyword search for "'young adult" or "young women"

NOTES:
Placing multiple-word keywords in quotation marks will only search for the two terms together.

Remember- AND narrows your search while OR broadens it. Think of it like a Venn Diagram:

AND OR
Venn diagram showing two overlapping circles with overlap highlighted Venn diagram showing two ovelapping circles where both circles are entirely highlighted
Returns results with all of your keywords Returns results with any of your keywords

Find Articles in Databases

General/Multi-Subject Databases: These will bring back results from different disciplines and sources

General OneFile
Academic Search Elite
LexisNexis

Subject Databases: These will bring back results from a specific discipline:

Business Source Elite: Scholarly articles and business profiles

America: History & Life: Articles as well as dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada

CINAHL Plus: Nursing and health articles

Communication and Mass Media: Journals in communication studies, speech, mass media, journalism, etc.

PsycARTICLES: Access to peer-reviewed articles from more than 50 journals in psychology

Sociological Abstracts: Over 1,600 serials publications, plus book chapters in the field of sociology

To find databases in other disciplines, use the Find Articles by Subject page.

If you need an article or book that we don't have, we can order it from another library through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Accessing Library Resources through Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Click on Settings

A screenshot of the home page of the Google Scholar website, with the Google logo and search box. A red arrow is pointed to the link for Settings in the upper right hand corner.

Select Library Links

A screenshot of the upper-left hand corner of the Google Scholar Settings page. There is a list of links for Scholar settings for "search results", "language" and "library links". A red arrow is pointed at "library links"

Search for CSUN, check the box and Save

Screenshot of Google Settings, Library Links page with a search box in the middle showing a search for "CSUN" and the results listing "Open WorldCat- Library Search" and "CSU, Northridge- SFX Find It at CSUN". Both results show a checkmark in the box to their left, with the "CSU Northridge" checkbox circled in red. A red arrow is pointed at the "CSU, Northridge" result and another red arrow is pointed at the Save box at the bottom-right of the results.

If an article is available through a library database, you'll be able to access it by clicking on SFX Find It at CSUN

A screenshot of a Google Scholar Results page, zoomed in on the options to the left of two articles. Links that say "SFX Find It at CSUN" are circled in red.

Get Help

Your instructor:
Anna Fidgeon
annaliese.fidgeon@csun.edu
818-677-4729

English Librarian:
Kimberly Embleton
kimberley.embleton@csun.edu
818-677-5336

Ask A Librarian: Get help by text, e-mail, phone or in-person

Writing Sources

Citing Your Sources: Get help with MLA Style Citations

The Writing Center: Make an appointment with a writing consultant to help with all stages of writing your paper.

Plagiarism Explained

Find Sources Using the Library's OneSearch Tool

Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:

CRAAP Test

It is important to evaluate your sources- even if they're scholarly. Use the CRAAP test as a guideline. This video will explain:

What is a Scholarly Article?

Unsure about what it means when an article is scholarly? This video will explain:

The Info-Cycle

This video will roughly explain how different information sources are created:

Find an Article From a Citation

Learn more about the components of a citation and how to find an article using one at the Research Therapy Series' Finding an Article From a Citation.

Online Government Resources

USA.gov: Find government information, research and statistics.

Women's Health Resources: A collection of health topics and research from government sites.

American Factfinder: American Census data.

Medline Plus: Easy-to-understand and ad-free medical and health information.

Bureau of Labor Statistics: Information on national and international business and labor topics, including the Consumer Price Index, Employment/Unemployment and National Compensation Data.