Types of Sources at the Library
- Articles (published in Newspapers, Magazines, Journals)
- Media (films and sound recordings)
- Primary Sources (provide first-hand testimony or direct evidence concerning a topic under investigation. Created by witnesses or recorders who experienced the events or conditions being documented
You can use a combination of keywords to find primary sources that are printed in books. You can also use these keywords to search for articles (Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals) in the collection.
Search the library catalog for books.
For primary sources you can use keywords such as :
- interview or diary or letter or speech or narrative (see keywords above)
General Article Search via One Search from the library home page.
Digital Archival Collections
These are archival collections at national institutions suchs as Universities or Museums.
Browse the different collections using the link to Pinterest OR select a collection from the list.
PINTEREST - Browse a selection of online archives via Pinterest.
LIST - Select a collection and follow the instructions below.
- Los Angeles Public Library Photo Colections
- Library of Congress - American History
- Online Archive of California
- African American Women (Elizabeth Johnson Harris, Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson, Vilet Lester) - Duke University
- African-American Sheet Music, 1850-1920 - American Memory - Library of Congress
- Africana and Black History - Digital Schomburg - New York Public Library
- African Americans in California -- Bancroft Library at Univeristy of California, Berkeley
- African American Research - National Archives
- African-American Richmond : Educational Segregation and Desegregation -- Virginia Commonwealth University
- African Activist Archive - Michigan State University
- African American Women Writers -- Digital Schomburg - New York Public Library
- American Black Journal - Detroit Public Television and Michigan State University
- Anti-Apartheid Struggle in South Africa -- Copyright Community Video Education Trust, Cape Town, South Africa
- Images of 19th Century African Americans - Digital Schomburg New York Public Library
- Civil Rights -- African American Research - National Archives
- Civil Rights Documentation Project - University of Southern Mississippi
- Freedmen's Bureau Marriages -- African American Research - National Archives
- Slave Narratives : Interviews with Former Slaves by the Work Projects Administration -- Project Gutenberg EBook
- Church Hill Oral History - Virginia Black History Archives - Virginia Commonwealth University
- Television News of the Civil Rights Era 1950-1970 Virgina Center for Digital History -- University of Virgina
- The Black Panther Party - Berkeley Library Social Activism Sound Recording Project - University of California, Berkeley
- Video and Audio Resources -- Schomburg Center