Category: Guides

Health and Society in Video; A New Collection Purchased with NIH/NLM Grant

health logoThe Oviatt has added a collection of 260 videos with funds provided by NIH/NLM Women’s Health Resources and Gender Differences grant. The Health and Society Video collection offers more than 100 videos which address women’s issues in particular. The videos can be viewed on and off campus. There are several ways you can find the collection: as a database, on Databases A-Z  or as individual videos in our Library Catalog. Our catalog has a record for each video in the collection. As an example, the following catalog record for “Wisdom of the Heart” describes the video. The subject headings assigned provide specific detail about the topics covered in the video i.e. Heart Diseases—Sex factors and Sex discrimination in Medicine. Plus a summary explains how women were excluded from medical trials. The records can provide a lot of pertinent information on what you are about to view. The ‘Added Title’ links indicated below with an arrow can also lead you to hundreds more titles on your topic. Follow the link to this catalog record at http://suncat.csun.edu/record=b2916558 and enjoy!

health catalog record

 The website for Women’s Health Resources is at http://www.womenshealthresources.nlm.nih.gov/index.html  where you can further your research.

- Marcia Henry

Research Therapy: Need help coming up with a topic for your research paper or project?

Our new session of Research Therapy gives you ideas on where to look for topic ideas, how to narrow your topic, as well as a couple of online library resources that are a great place to begin your research. 

Topic Exploration image for video

Concept Mapping

Concept mapping is a great way to expand on a general topic; it also helps you to think about the different aspects of your topic. Here’s a template for a basic concept map. Here’s another concept map when you’re trying to identify the who, what, when, where, why or how of a topic.

As mentioned in the video keep in mind the different angles you could take on a topic:

  • Geographical → where
  • Sociological → who
  • Psychological → why
  • Historical → when

Library Databases

After you pick a general topic it’s a good idea to do some general background resources. Oviatt Library has several different online reference resources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical resources and more. The databases mentioned in the video are Opposing Viewpoints in Context and Credo Reference.  We also have a list of online reference resources listed under the Find Articles by Subject page, as well as an organized list of our databases by subject.  We also have a general Research Strategies guide to help you along with the research process.

 -Laurie Borchard        laurie.borchard@csun.edu

Please tell us what you think about our Research Therapy videos at our survey. Thank you.

Research Therapy: You Don’t Have to Come to the Library to Get a Library Book

You know you don’t have to come into the library to get your hands on some books, right? And if you’ve ever checked out a book from the library, only to find it doesn’t have any information you need, you should try looking at Google Books first.

The Oviatt has hundreds of e-books available, straight off of the website. Even if the book you want isn’t available electronically, you can still use Google Books to take a peek at the content. You might save yourself a trip! Watch this video to learn more:

ebooks video image

We want your feedback! What do you think of Research Therapy? What would you like to see in future episodes? Please, fill out our survey:

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/J9QWNY8

- Anna Fidgeon

Please tell us what you think about our Research Therapy videos at our survey. Thank you.

Need Help Using OneSearch?

Just in case you’re confused about our new search tool on the library’s homepage, we’ve created a short video showing you how it works and how you can narrow your results in order to get exactly what you need. We also have a OneSearch FAQ.

When you do a search your results are broken down into two different tabs, one is labeled Articles and one labeled Books & Media. The Articles tab are items that you would normally find in our online databases and the Books & Media tab are what you would find in our library catalog. The image below describes the types of resources found in both.

trouble with OneSearch Image
OneSearch is a powerful tool and we’re pretty excited about it. However, if you’re looking for specific types of resources you might want to check out our other discovery tools.

Just beginning your research?          OneSearch

Want different types of resources in various formats?           OneSearch

Looking for a textbook?          Course Reserves or Library Catalog

Looking for a specific article?          OneSearch

Books by a specific author?          Library Catalog

Is your topic a little complicated?          Find Articles by Subject

Are you looking for archival sources?          Special Collections and Archives FAD

Still not sure where to go?          Ask a Librarian

-Laurie Borchard

Oviatt Library Offers EndNote Web, a Personal Citation Management Database

It’s getting very close to the holidays. I am the Health Sciences Librarian here at Oviatt Library and I want to present you with a special gift which can help you organize your information on the literature you are reading for your classes. It can help you cite scholarly articles,  newspapers, magazine articles, videos, books, book chapters and websites you find to do your assignments.  It allows you to share your collected references with your fellow students and professors if they too have signed up for their own free EndNote Web account. The best way to share this information on EndNote Web is to direct you to our EndNoteWeb video tutorials

EndNote Web

Today I am briefly describing how EndNote Web will work with our EbscoHost databases which has indexes, abstracts and full-text for just about all academic departments in this University.  There is an easy to use Export button. Select the bibliographic information you want to send to EndNote Web and select the Export button.

Cinahl example for Endnote

If you have not already logged into your EndNote Web account, a log in screen will appear, and the information in the EbscoHost database should prompt EndNote Web to open an appropriate template identifying what type of publication, the example here, a book chapter, and populate the fields with the necessary information. 

Endnote Web

The important thing to understand about EndNote Web is that it is your personal database and you can edit information as necessary.  You do NOT want to rely on the Library databases to export with 100% accuracy. EndNote web  is a big help in capturing  a lot of essential information with links back to the article for you to resume your research.  Take time to check your information before writing your paper and make needed corrections. Then you can get a lot of help for different style guides for all disciplines, APA 6th, MLA, Chicago, JAMA, American Sociological Association and dozens more through EndNote Web.  

The Library public computer stations  have the  EndNote Web Cite While You Write plug in which will help you with in-text citing as well as the list of references in the style you select.

endnote web

i.e. Will insert in-text citation and the full reference in order required by the style you asked it to do (Gill & Kamphoff, 2010)

But always remember to double-check the accuracy of the citations EndNote Web generates. While it can help you to organize your research materials and citations, it is not always accurate. Of course, if you have questions, please visit us at the reference desk!

- Marcia Henry

Research Therapy: What is a Scholarly Article?

Have you ever wondered exactly what is a scholarly article? And how can you tell if an article you’ve found is scholarly? Watch the following short video and read the information below to answer these questions and more!

Why Can’t I Find Scholarly Sources on My Topic?
If you’re having trouble finding scholarly sources on your topic, you may be running into one of these problems:
Not enough time has passed: it takes time to conduct research, write the scholarly article, and then get it published. If your topic concerns an event that happened recently (in the last year for example), there may not be anything scholarly published on it yet. The Fix: find scholarly articles on broader themes related to your topic. For example, if you wanted to write about the 2012 presidential election, you could find scholarly articles on past presidential elections dealing with aspects that relate to the current election.
Need to try another database: you may be looking in a database that doesn’t have many scholarly articles, or it may not have many articles from the subject area your topic falls in. The Fix: try using a subject-specific database or one of the other resources in the Finding Scholarly Articles section below.
The topic hasn’t been researched: since scholarly articles are the results of research being done by professors and other experts in the field, there may not be scholarly articles on your topic if someone hasn’t yet undertaken the research, found an angle of interest to the field, or found a measurable way to test it. The Fix: find scholarly articles on broader themes related to your topic. For example, if you need a scholarly article for your speech on how to tie a tie, you probably won’t find scholarly articles explaining how to tie a tie, but you may find articles on how men’s neckwear has evolved through history.
Can Books be Scholarly?
Usually when we talk about scholarly sources, we’re talking about scholarly articles. However, books can be scholarly as well. One factor to look at for books is the publisher. Books from university presses (such as University of California Press or Harvard University Press) are more likely to be scholarly, but you should also check that there are references cited in the text and listed at the end and that the language of the book is scholarly.
Is It Peer-Reviewed?
Many scholarly articles are peer-reviewed, which is when the journal’s editor has other researchers in the field review the article before it is published. They evaluate the content and procedures used and recommend whether the article should be published as is, revised, or rejected. Peer-reviewed journals are also known as refereed journals.
To check if the article is peer-reviewed, you can
• Check the About or Focus/Scope section of the journal’s webpage. Many journals will say if they are peer-reviewed on these pages.
• Look the journal up in Ulrich’s to see if it is peer-reviewed. For more information on how to do this, watch the Is This Journal Peer Reviewed? tutorial.
Finding Scholarly Articles
To find scholarly articles, try:
JSTOR or Project Muse, which consist entirely of articles from scholarly journals. JSTOR covers most disciplines while Project Muse focuses on humanities, arts, and social sciences.
• Selecting the Scholarly or Peer Reviewed check box available in many general and subject-specific databases, such as General OneFile or PsycInfo.
• Using Google Scholar instead of Google. You can set up Google Scholar so you can access CSUN resources from off campus.

- Danielle Skaggs

Please tell us what you think about our Research Therapy videos at our survey. Thank you.

Research Therapy: Be a Search Boss

We admit it. Searching a library catalog or database is not always as straightforward as Google. And sometimes, searching Google is frustrating because you get so many questionable results. So how can you find that really great article for your paper? This video will show you some tactics to help get you on your way to being a Super Searcher!

I’m finding too much! I can’t find enough!
If you are overloaded or underloaded with search results, you might want to rethink your search strategy by brainstorming broader or narrower concepts. For example, if your topic for a 5-page paper is gay rights, do you think you could cover everything ever about gay rights in so few pages? If so, you should give me some writing lessons.

searchstrategy image gay marriage
Most likely, with a topic as broad as gay rights, you probably want to focus on something a little more narrow under the umbrella of gay rights, such as gay marriage. If you still feel like there’s still too much on your topic to cover, you might focus in even more. For example, you could specifically look at Prop 8.

Question your assignment
One way to think about your topic is to form it into a question you can answer with your research. This can also help you focus your topic. Here are some examples:

searchstrategy image ask yourself

It might seem frustrating when you have to keep adjusting your search, but that’s exactly what research is, it’s re-searching until you find what you’re looking for. If you feel really stuck, be sure to Ask A Librarian for help.

- Anna Fidgeon

annaliese.fidgeon@csun.edu

Please tell us what you think about our Research Therapy videos at our survey. Thank you.

Research Therapy Takes on the Annotated Bibliography

It’s that time of the semester – papers and other types of research are being assigned. Today we explore a research assignment you might not be familiar with: the annotated bibliography.

Annotations – More Information
Need a little more guidance on what to include in your annotation? The following table provides examples of descriptive and evaluative information you can include in your annotation. You can include both types of information in your annotation.

annotated bib chart

The Oviatt Library also has full sample annotated bibliographies (MLA or APA) and citation guides (MLA or APA) available to help you. We also carry the Chicago Manual of Style Online.

-Danielle Skaggs

Please tell us what you think about our Research Therapy videos at our survey. Thank you.