California State University, Northridge

Oviatt Library

MedlinePlus quality consumer health information

MedlinePlus is a really good resource for quality consumer health information.  It just recently added consumer health information in several languages.

The URL for consumer health in foreign language  is:
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/languages/languages.html

The URL for consumer health in foreign languages  by topic is:
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/languages/all_healthtopics.html

and the URL to retrieve primarily quality information in English is: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
 

You can also, as a CSUN faculty, staff or student,  reach MedlinePlus when using PubMed at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib

Look for the link to Consumer Health on the left column.  In addition, depending upon the topic, you may also find links by viewing the full record  and choose   Links to Link Out to Medical  as in the following example:

    Medical
    MedlinePlus Health Information

Posted by mhenry under databases – May 8th, 2008, 1:24 pm
RSS feed databases feed

Medline databases-PubMed, Medline ISI Web of Knowledge

Medline is a database that indexes the medical literature.  I encourage accessing Medline on NCBI’s PubMed.   CSUN offers a  URL to link records with our Find Text

 http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgiotool=cacsunlib

Pubmed opening screen Spring 2008

Posted by mhenry under databases – March 10th, 2008, 12:58 pm
RSS feed databases feed

Handout for reference desk covering “Databases A-Z with Subject categories Fall 2008 update

Posted by mhenry under databases, handouts – January 17th, 2008, 4:37 pm
RSS feed databases feed , or handouts feed