Before you start your research, brainstorm some broader, narrower and/or related keywords to help with your research. These keywords can come from your own knowledge of your topic or from searching background information.
Let's say I am in the beginning stages of my research on the image of women in art of Iran.
|Keyword 1||Keyword 2||Keyword 3|
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
What's a Bibliography?
A bibliography is a list of all of the sources that you consult in the process of researching your work. It should follow a specific citation style (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). Each citation includes elements such as:
- Author(s)' names
- Date published
- Name and place of publisher
The goal is to provide enough information for your readers to locate the resources you cite.
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is commonly used within the liberal arts and humanities. The Library has several copies of the MLA Handbook in print.
Here are other resources you may find useful while formatting your paper:
- MLA Style Guide ("Quick & Easy" version) by Eric Garcia
- MLA Style Guide (long version) by Eric Garcia
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL Purdue
- MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (print version at the Library)
- Sample MLA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Duran
- Sample MLA-Style Paper from OWL Purdue
Recommended Reference Sources
These online reference sources are great places to start:
Oxford Art Online
Includes The Dictionary of Art; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works in a wide range of subject areas.
- Sage eReference
Includes over 80 online encyclopedias and handbooks primarily in the social sciences.
Use the Art Databases to find peer-reviewed articles, reviews, news items and more.
Using Google Scholar
You can find items the Oviatt Library owns using Google Scholar's "Find Text" capabilities. To activate the capabilities for your browser:
- Select Settings (near the top of the page), then Library links from the left menu
- In the search box, type "CSUN" and click the magnifying glass to perform search
- Check the box next to "CSU, Northridge (SFX Find It at CSUN)"
- Click Save
After performing a search in Google Scholar, select the SFX Find It at CSUN link (to the right of the article) or the SFX: Additional Options link (located below the article description) for access to online full text, Oviatt Library holdings information, and Interlibrary Loan.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the Library to get the book you need via Interlibrary Loan.
What is InterLibrary Loan?
Interlibrary Loan (or ILL) is a service provided to obtain materials which are needed for research but are not available in the Oviatt Library.
How do I make ILL requests?
Requests are made through the automated Interlibrary Loan System. See the Interlibrary Loan page for more info.
Can't find what you're looking for? Try using WorldCat.org to find items in libraries near you.
What is WorldCat?
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Think of it as a giant library catalog!
WorldCat lets you:
- Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby
- Locate a variety of material, including books, music, and videos
- Find digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded