Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
Use the Art Databases to find peer-reviewed articles, reviews, news items and more.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the Library to get the book you need via Interlibrary Loan.
What is InterLibrary Loan?
Interlibrary Loan (or ILL) is a service provided to obtain materials which are needed for research but are not available in the Oviatt Library.
How do I make ILL requests?
Requests are made through the automated Interlibrary Loan System. See the Interlibrary Loan page for more info.
What's a Bibliography?
A bibliography is a list of all of the sources that you consult in the process of researching your work. It should follow a specific citation style (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). Each citation includes elements such as:
- Author(s)' names
- Date published
- Name and place of publisher
The goal is to provide enough information for your readers to locate the resources you cite.
Boolean operators are words (or, and, not) used to connect search terms to expand or narrow a search within a database to locate relevant information.
It is helpful to diagram the effects of these operators:
women or females
Or retrieves records that contain any of the search terms. It expands the search. Therefore, use "or" in between terms that have the same meaning (synonyms) or equal value to the search.
women and media
And retrieves records that contain all of the search terms. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "and" in between terms that are required to make the search specific.
image not weight
Not eliminates records that contain a search term. It narrows or limits the search. Therefore, use "not" in front of a term to ensure that the search will not include that term. Warning: Some databases use "and not" instead of "not." Check the database help screen.
Using Google Scholar
You can find items the Oviatt Library owns using Google Scholar's "Find Text" capabilities. To activate the capabilities for your browser:
- Select Settings (near the top of the page), then Library links from the left menu
- In the search box, type "CSUN" and click the magnifying glass to perform search
- Check the box next to "CSU, Northridge (SFX Find It at CSUN)"
- Click Save
After performing a search in Google Scholar, select the SFX Find It at CSUN link (to the right of the article) or the SFX: Additional Options link (located below the article description) for access to online full text, Oviatt Library holdings information, and Interlibrary Loan.