Using Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is an online encyclopedia of art and a great starting point for research. Entries include biographies and a vast number of images. Check out this video on navigating and searching this resource.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the Library to get the book you need via Interlibrary Loan.
What is InterLibrary Loan?
Interlibrary Loan (or ILL) is a service provided to obtain materials which are needed for research but are not available in the Oviatt Library.
How do I make ILL requests?
Requests are made through the automated Interlibrary Loan System. See the Interlibrary Loan page for more info.
Types of Art Publications
Generally speaking, an "artist monograph" is a book dedicated to a single artist. It contains a mix of biography, criticism and historical context, as well as images of the artist's works. It is typically published independent of an exhibition.
Exhibition catalogs are published by a museum or gallery to accompany an exhibit. They may be for a group show or for a solo exhibition. Typically an exhibition catalog has at least one in-depth essay on the content of the exhibition.
Exhibition catalogs have a long history; you can read more about them in the exhibition catalogues entry in Oxford Art Online.
A catalogue raisonné is a complete listing of an artist's "oeuvre" (body of work). It is typically annotated, and includes factual information such as medium, measurements, and provenance.
Catalogues raisonnés have a long history; you can read more about catalogues raisonnés in Oxford Art Online.
Browsing the Stacks - Photography
For books related to photography, check out the 4th floor where the call numbers begin with TR.
- TR250-265 for Cameras
- TR287-500 for Photographic processing, Darkroom technique
- TR504-508 for Transparencies, Diapositives
- TR510-545 for Color photography
- TR550-581 for Studio and laboratory
- TR590-620 for Lighting
- TR624-835 for Applied photography
- TR845-899 for Cinematography, Motion pictures
- TR925-1050 for Photomechanical processes
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
Use the Art Databases to find peer-reviewed articles, reviews, news items and more.
Can't find what you're looking for? Try using WorldCat.org to find items in libraries near you.
What is WorldCat?
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. Think of it as a giant library catalog!
WorldCat lets you:
- Search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby
- Locate a variety of material, including books, music, and videos
- Find digital items that can be directly viewed or downloaded
When you search for resources, you're likely going to find a lot of information... but is it reliable? You will need to determine this for yourself, and the CRAAP Test can help. Try evaluating the resource on the following five factors:
- Currency - is it current? Is currency important for the topic?
- Relevance - is it relevant to your assignment? Who is the audience?
- Authority - is the author/creator an expert on the subject?
- Accuracy - is the information supported by evidence?
- Purpose - is it biased? Is the resource trying to sell you on something?
Looking for images? Try searching these databases:
A digital archive containing over 1.6 million world art and architecture images.
Oxford Art Online
Though primarily used as a reference source, this database includes images in many of its entries. Includes The Dictionary of Art; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Additionally, here are some websites that include art images: