Finding Newspaper Articles: OneSearch
Start by typing in your keywords, topic, event, or person your searching in the OneSearch box from the Library's homepage.
On the results page you can refine your search on the left hand side to limit by Format (News Item) and Publication Date (enter in year or range of years).
Almost all microform titles are stored in the ASRS, please ask for assistance at the Reserves, Periodicals & Microform service desk on the 4th floor of the library, east wing.
To determine if the Library has particular material on microform (microfilm, microcard or microfiche), perform either a subject, title, periodical title or author search in the Library Catalog. To view a particular title, choose a date range and select Request (as shown below) then go to Reserves, Periodicals and Microform service desk.
You can save pdf images of microform pages to your own flash drive, or print paper copies for $.20/page. A change machine is located in the Reserves, Periodicals & Microform wing.
Below are some major U.S. Titles newspapers
- Atlanta Constitution (stored microfilm 1868-1898)
- Chicago Tribune (stored microfilm 1857-1867,1920-1992)
- Christian Science Monitor (stored microfilm 1960-1983)
- Christian Science Monitor (stored microfilm 1983-current)
- Daily News (stored microform 1981-current)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (stored microfilm 1946- current)
- Los Angeles Times (stored microfilm 1886- current)
- New York Times (stored microfilm 1857- current)
- New York Tribune (stored microfilm 1841-1865)
- San Francisco Chronicle (stored microfilm 1900-1992)
- St. Louis Post Dispatch (stored microfilm 1940- 1960)
- Wall Street Journal (stored microfilm 1903-1959)
- Wall Street Journal (stored microfilm 1960-current)
- Washington Post (stored microfilm 1973-current)
Library Catalog: Newspaper Search
To determine if the library has access to a particular newspaper select the Journals tab from the Library's homepage underneath the OneSearch Box.
Then, enter the title of the newspaper.
TIP: Once you have found the record, pay close attention to the date ranges. Databases will vary on the publication years we have access too. If your research requires a specific date range make sure you choose a database that has coverage for those dates.
Major U.S. Tiles (electronic resource)
- Arizona Republican (electronic resource 1890-1917)
- Atlanta Constitution (electronic resource 1991-2001)
- Baltimore Sun (electronic resource 2008-current)
- Boston Globe (electronic resource 1980-current)
- Chicago Tribune (electronic resource 1985-current)
- Christian Science Monitor (electronic resource 1983-current)
- The Daily News (electronic resource 1995-current)
- Jewish Advocate (electronic resource 1991-current)
- La Opinion (electronic resource 1992-current)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (electronic resource 1934-current)
- Los Angeles Times (electronic resource 1886-current)
- New York Times (electronic resource 1857-current)
- New York Tribune (electronic resource 1842-1866)
- New York Tribune (electronic resource 1841-1842)
- New York Tribune (electronic resource 1866-1922)
- Wall Street Journal (electronic resource 1991- current)
- Washington Post (electronic resource 1977-current)
Historical Newspapers (electronic resources)
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
- America’s Historical Newspaper Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
- American Periodicals Series Online (ProQuest) Collection contains searchable, digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century, chronicling the development of America across 150 years.
- California Historical Newspapers (1850-1922)
- Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 1905-1975
- The Daily Sundial (1957-1991, 2006-current)
- Early American Newspaper (Series I-III 1690-1922)
- Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)
- Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 1881-1990
- New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) 1851-2010
- Times Digital Archive (Gale) 1785-2008
- Times (London, England) (stored microfilm 1785-2012)
- Times (London England) (electronic resources 1788 – 2012)
- The Times of India (electronic resource 2005-current)
- Daily Mail (London, England) (electronic resource 1992 – current)
- El Pais (Madrid, Spain) (electronic resource 1996-current)
- The Globe and Mail (Toronto, Canada) (1977-current)
- Le Monde (Paris, France) (stored microfilm 1949-1968)
- Manila Times (electronic resource 2005-2011)
- Nuestro (Latin American magazine) (stored periodical 1977-1987)
- Observer (London, England) (electronic resource 1993-current)
- Financial Times (London, England) (electronic resource 1982-2014)
- Guardian (London, England) (electronic resource 1984-2014)
- The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (stored microfilm 1961-1992)
Major Digital Newspaper Collections
- List of Newspaper Digitization Projects
- Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (United States and Caribbean countries)
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress), 1836-1922
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
Databases with Current News Sources
- Academic Search Premier Provides full text for nearly 4,600 periodicals, including more than 3,900 full-text peer-reviewed journals.
- Ethnic NewsWatch Full-text collection of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Over 270 titles, 1960- present.
- General OneFile From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access over 9,000 scholarly journals, and general interest news magazines and newspapers - over half contain full text and images
- LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database containing news, legal, biographical, and business information from over 12,000 U.S. and international publications.
- NewsBank Special Reports focuses on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms.
- Proquest Newsstand Full text for 500+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major and regional U.S. newspapers.