CSUN WordmarkOviatt Library Wordmark

Marketing 304/ Keyani: Company Research, Financials, SWOT, and Industry Codes

Sean Maziar Keyani

Company/Industry Research

Databases

There are several databases that will allow you to perform company and industry research. The video tutorials below will show you how do this research. Even though the tutorials point to a particular type of research, there are many categories in the databases from which to choose from. As you do your research, pay attention to the other categories on the pages.

  • I suggest looking at all periodicals (news, magazines, trade publications, and academic journals), which you will find in ABI/Inform Complete, Business Source Premier, General OneFile, and LexisNexis.
  • IbisWorld will give you insight to your industry's performance and analysis.

 

Business Resources Videos

Company and Industry Research, includes finding a SWOT analysis.

 

Finding Industry Codes SIC and NAICS

 

Finding Company or Industry Financial Information

 

Access Databases from Off Campus

Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. To access the databases from off campus, click the name of the database. You will then see a screen asking you to log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).

For more information, see Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus and the Library's Copyright Statement (in particular, the Appropriate Use of Oviatt Library's Electronic Resources section).