Resources for Market Research
- Google Trends to determine current web search engine trends.
- Google Scholar to search scholarly articles about current popular issues relating to market research (i.e., "Postal service" and market research) or products (e.g., iPhone).
- Google Anaylitics See Search Engine Watch's (SEW) article:Guide to Google Analytics Demographic Reports: Age, Gender and Interests
From the U.S. Government:
- Bureau of Labor Statistics data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey, and American Time Use Survey to determine American values and trends.
From the Oviatt Library:
- RKMA Market Research Handbooks
- New Strategist Publications: Who's Buying Series, available electronically through Oviatt Library
- ABI/Inform Complete database has FirstResearch Industry Reports anyalyzing industries quarterly
Marketing Journal Titles by Subject (selected)
- Marketing research
- Marketing management
- Consumer behavior
- Motivation research
- Communication in marketing
Helpful videos on YouTube:
The Basics of Marketing Research
Comparing Secondary and Primary Data in Marketing Research
Polling Data (U.S. and International)
Describes the basic principles of polling and sampling in a question and answer format.
A compilation of data gathered by the United States Census Bureau.
Annual Economic Surveys In addition to conducting the Economic Censuses every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau conducts more than 100 economic surveys covering annual, quarterly, and monthly time periods for various sectors of the economy. These surveys measure a wide variety of economic activities, from capital expenditures for food manufacturing companies to annual auto dealership sales. Includes County Business Patterns.
Economic Statistics for U.S., states, metro areas, counties, and cities. Published every five years (2002, 2007, 2012, etc.) for every industry (NAICS). Part of the Economy-Wide Statistics offered by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Economy-Wide Statistics from the US Census Bureau, includes Statistics of U.S. Businesses, Quarterly Workforce Indicators, and Survey of Business Owners.
Census 2010 data presented in such a way that it can be understood by the novice user. Included are charts and trends, maps, population rankings and information on segregation.
Historical Census Data
From the U.S. Census
A guide from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) highlighting their collection of census information
Demographic data, market insights, interactive maps, detailed summary and comparison reports, and fast access to U.S. Census data sorted by geographies and demographic characteristics.
Census of Population and Housing from the Decennial Census 1790-2010
From the University of Virginia Library, has data sets on state and county level topics for individual census years 1790-1960 (including demographics on slave population) and generate maps on selected data.
This report includes the census questionnaire and instructions for each census and individual census histories are also provided.
Database of census data 1790-present
2010 census data available for users who want to download the set of detailed tables for all of the geographies within a state and run their own analysis and rankings.
Includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations).
California's primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data, tracking the trends of the State of California, its businesses and people.
These resources provide State and national statistics on child and family well-being indicators, such as health, child care, education, income, and marriage.
Provided by the University of Michigan, access is limited to one user at a time. Available in both Chinese and English. Includes yearly macro-economic statistics, monthly macro-economic statistics, and historical statistics (1949-) from China.
Primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States
Public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Open data portal for the city of Los Angeles
Create thematic maps based on data from the US Census (demographic, economic, housing, and social characteristics, etc.).
Major statistical data sources on disability
Database of over 600,000 emails generated by 158 employees of the Enron Corporation and acquired by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission during its investigation after the company's collapse.
Provide access to official statistical information available to the public from the Federal Government. Covers over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
A standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, that has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
Data related to development: literacy, health, poverty, income inequality, climate change, crime, population, and more.
Contains useful datasets for political and social research. Download options include ASCII, ASCII+, SAS, SPSS, Stata. Note: Creating a MyData account is free, necessary to download most data from ICPSR, and does not require you to be associated with an ICPSR member institution.
Click on "International Statistical Links" to retrieve an A-Z country list with national statistical bureau links attached.
Gathers social and economic information on Mexican-US migration.
Military casualty data and Active Duty military/civilian personnel statistics by rank/grade, service totals, service by Region/Country.
Search, customize and download datasets for national and international variables.
The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is the nation’s leading public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children.
Data and research studies cover all areas of social policy in the UK.
National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates (2013): Information provided by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals, permanent legal residents, naturalized citizens and maps with various demographic characteristics (1996-present).
Includes multidimensional poverty index and specific summaries on the results of the MPI analyses in 104 developing nations.
PovcalNet is an interactive computational tool that allows you to replicate the calculations made by the World Bank's researchers in estimating the extent of absolute poverty in the world, including the $1 a day poverty measures.
Statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are included. Also available in print: Census & Demographic Data Room HA202.P7.
UNDP is the United Nations' global development network, an organization advocating for change and connecting countries to knowledge, experience and resources to help people build a better life.
Provides a yearly overview of the economic, social, and environmental state of the world. Also provides detailed economic data for most countries, quality of life indicators, and other demographic and environmental information.
Provides detailed country profile” for most countries in the world. Covers geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Includes country maps.