Browsing: Many recreation and leisure studies books are located in the Library of Congress call numbers starting GV 1-200 on Floor 2 of the Oviatt Library. Additional locations possible are Reserve Book Room(Floor 4 East), Stored(ASRS East), and the Reference Room. In addition there are many online books in the catalog. An example catalog record is the link to The national parks : shaping the system Here are the LC Classifications:
Floor 2 GV155-180 Travel and State, Tourist Trade, GV 1-200 Recreation, Leisure,
Floor 4 RJ505 Play Therapy, RM736 Recreation Therapy SB480 National Parks
Searching: CSUN library uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Following is only a select list of LC subject headings appropriate for research on topics for leisure studies and or recreation. There are many more related subject headings you will find when you do a subject search in the Online Catalog. The following are subject headings which will take you directly into our Library Catalog.
- Gale Virtual Reference Center has over 100 online encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of recreation and leisure in America Reference Room GV53 .E53 2004 2 volumes
- Encyclopedia of leisure and outdoor recreation Reference Room GV11 .E55 2003 is also available online
The following are a select list of journals CSUN owns in paper and electronically. The links to the journal titles go to the journal title's catalog record in our CSUN Catalog Periodicals and Serials Catalog. The catalog record gives you the call number for the journal in print and may also provides a link to the online journal when journal is available online. The library subscribes to several periodicals with assigned subject heading parks periodicals and recreation periodicals.
- American Journal of Play
- Leisure Sciences Online
- Journal of Leisure Research Online
- Journal of physical education, recreation & dance (JOPERD)
JOPERD is available full text in InfoTRAC's OneFile
- Research Quarterly
- Therapeutic Recreation Journal
The best way to find articles on a specific topic is to search in a database, most of which index thousands of articles in thousands of journals. Not all articles are available full-text online; some are in print only and some are not available from the Library except through Interlibrary Loan. To determine the availability of an article, most databases offer the FindText button.
The recommended databases can be accessed either from Databases A-Z, as well as from the list of Databases for Recreation and Toursim Management
Provides access to thousands of electronic books that have been converted into electronic format from copyrighted, printed books.
Electronic Reference Books
- American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
- Leisure Information Network
- ActivePARKS.org includes National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA), Parks and Community activities and recreation facilities inventory.
- Amateur Athletic Foundation of Los Angeles has an extensive virtual collection on the Olympics and more at http://www.aafla.org/search/search.htm