Professor Tolan's Assignment Spring 2015
Critique an article from Therapuetic Recreation Journal (Use Research articles, No book reviews)
Cite the article using APA 6th style
Goals of the Library sessions, March 12 and March 13
- How to look up a journal
- How to identify scholarly, peer reviewed journals and databases that index the journals - Ulrich's
- How to use several different databases that index Theraputic Recreation Journal
- Learn about OneSearch at http://library.csun.edu
- Learn about EbscoHost databases (CINAHLPlus with FullText, PsycInfo, SportsDiscus)
- Learn about Proquest database (Physical Education Index, Proquest Dissertations)
- Learn How to Cite using APA style guide
- APA Quick Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- Citing Archival Materials in APA
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
Citation Formatting Tools
Citation managers are software that keep track of your sources and automatically format your citations in a variety of styles.
How to Cite Articles
- Determine which citation style to use; the two most commonly used at CSUN are MLA and APA. If your professor didn't specify, pick one and use it consistently.
- Check the sample style sheets (MLA or APA) to see what information the article citation should contain and how it should be formatted.
- Be sure to indicate where material you quoted directly or paraphrased came from.
For more information, see Citing Your Sources - Plagiarism.
Finding Books and Journals in the Library Catalog
Use the Catalog search box located in the center of the library's homepage to search for books. To search for books on your topic, use the default Keyword search option and enter your search terms in the For box.
If you have a specific book or author in mind, before you enter your search terms in the For box, change the Search type from Keyword to:
- Title - to look for a specific book.
- Author - to look for books by a specific author.
To look for ebooks only, select Ebooks in the Limits field.
What is a Scholarly Article?
Unsure about what it means when an article is scholarly? This video will explain:
OneSearch allows you to search, at this time, 150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog. Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet. OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database.
OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic. You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video: