The Oviatt Library provides access to many streaming video databases on a wide variety of topics. These videos can be viewed by students, faculty and staff, on campus and at home. In addition, faculty can stream these videos in the classroom or link to them in their Moodle courses (see the Library's Embed or Stream Video page for more info).
Streaming video databases:
- Alexander Street Press
Includes a wide variety of content, including subjects such as counseling and therapy, ethnographic videos, and LGBT studies.
- BBC Shakespeare plays (Ambrose Video)
This collection provides access to the 37 Shakespeare plays produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
For the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Features counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, and lectures.
Docuseek2 provides access to hundreds of streaming education videos from a variety of producers and distributors. You can search for a specific title or keyword, or browse videos by theme or title.
- Education in Video
Developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
- Environmental Studies in Video
Contains all realms of environmental studies, particularly ethics, policy, economics, law, sociology, planning, and environmental science.
- Ethnographic Video Online
Features classic and contemporary documentaries for the study of anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology covers every continent and hundreds of unique cultures.
- Films On Demand
Multidisciplinary streaming video service providing access to digital educational films. Current access includes videos in dozens of subject areas.
- Great Speeches Video Series
Streaming video collection of famous speeches in their entirety by some of the greatest speakers of the 20th and 21st centuries.
- Health & Society in Video
Defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society, with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
Kanopy currently features over 140 videos on a broad range of subjects (including the MEF Collection mentioned below). The platform features transcripts, embed links, and features for sharing playlists.
- LGBT Studies in Video
For the study of LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences.
- Media Education Foundation Video Collection
The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the effect these representations have on identity and culture.
- NBC Learn Higher Ed
Provides thousands of historic news reports, current events stories, original content, primary source documents, and other digital media specifically designed to help teach and engage students of all levels and abilities.
- NBC Learn K-12
Offers unique collections of video resources, primary sources, historic footage, images, mini-documentaries and text resources designed for use in the K-12 classroom. Resources include a printable transcript, closed captioning (videos), copyright, source, etc.
- Opera in Video
Features opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
- Theatre in Video
Collection of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Streaming audio databases:
- Naxos Music Library
Online music library offering streaming access to more than 99,000 CD-length recordings of classical, jazz, world, folk, classic pop and rock music.