The following resources are designed to support Bridge 201 students with finding articles and books for their 15-18 page research paper.
Overview of the Research Process
As you begin your research, consider taking the following steps.
1. Create a research question or statement
2. Create a list of search terms (also known as keywords) that will assist you in finding information about your question or statement
3. Identify the types of periodicals and other sources you need for the assignment (number of books or articles from library subscription databases)
4. Select and search in the library catalog for books and appropriate subscription databases for articles
5. Cite your sources in MLA Citation Style
Searching in the Library Catalog
Searching the library catalog for books can be a good place to start your research.
- Using your list of search terms, search the Oviatt Library Catalog for books
- Keyword vs. Subject search. These two things sound the same but work differently when you are searching, so be sure to try both.
- Title or author search if you know exactly what book you need.
- Write down the location and call number (the call number serves as an address, it tells you where the book is located in the library). Once you find the book on the shelf, look at the other books around it. Similar books will be shelved in the same area.
- Finding Books in the library - reading a call number
Database Searching Tips
Searching for information in the library databases works differently than searching for information on the Internet. When searching in library databases, sentences can not be entered in the search box(es) to search. (You will get very poor results, if any.) Instead, library databases require users to enter search terms with the Boolean operators - "AND," "OR," "NOT" connecting each search terms/keyword. See the library's Boolean Searching page for a more detailed description and other helpful information.
Searching for Articles Through Databases at the Oviatt Library
The following databases may be useful to search for information for this assignment. You will need your campus User ID and Password to enter these databases if you are not in the library. (This is the same User ID and Password you use to access the portal and your CSUN email account.)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) - Offers full-text articles from journals and magazines, may limit to full-text search and within a date range.
Ethnic News Watch - Provides full-text articles from ethnic, minority and native press. More than 270 titles, 1960 to present.
Eric - Indexes full-text to more than 2,200 digests in addition to citation and abstracts from more than 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Gale Powersearch (Thomson) - Provides cross-searching of multiple Gale databases: General OneFile, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Business and Company ASAP, and Opposing Viewpoints in Context. May limit to full-text search and within a date range.
General OneFile (Gale) - Includes Expanded Academic. Full-text articles from journals and magazines, may limit to only search full-text and within a date range.
PsycINFO - Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology and education to name a few.
Proquest Newspapers - Offers full-text access to over 600 US and international newspapers, hundreds of other news wires and news sources; dates vary. May select specific newspapers to search and within a date range.
Depending upon your topic, you may want to explore other databases in a specific discipline or subject area. You may do this at our "Databases by Subject" page.
Searching in OneSearch for Articles and Books:
- Enter your keywords in the OneSearch search box.
- The “Articles” tab will be the default tab for results.
- You may refine your article search results by adding another keyword or by using the tools in the left column.
- Select the books tab to search for books.
- You may refine your book search results by adding another keyword or by using the tools in the left column.
- For more information about using OneSearch, watch this 3-minute tutorial http://library.csun.edu/blogs/cited/having-trouble-using-onesearch
You will want to evaluate carefully all Internet resources you use to support your research topic. The Oviatt Library provides information within its Research Strategies pages to assist in effective evaluation.
Citation and Evaluation Guides
- Citing Your Sources - For MLA Citation Information, select the MLA Style Guide. See the "Subscription Databases (article/s)" section in the left column.
- Why Cite? Avoiding Plagiarism
Reference Services and Library Hours