CD 485 : Library Research Guide

Dr. Ed Hall

The goals of today's library session are:

  • Learn How to do Library and Internet research: determine information need, choose best resources, develop a search strategy, understand keyword and subject searching, how to use boolean operators and truncation  symbols, how to cite sources, and more.
  • Learn about OneSearch, our new discovery tool, in depth look at PubMed (freely available index to the medical literature, EbscoHost databases (Nursing, Psychology, Education, Communication, Business) in Communication Disorders + Sciences 
  • Learn about Find Text  to identify if Oviatt library has the item    

     

 

  • Learn about Interlibrary Loan - request articles and books from other libraries.  Allow 2 weeks.

Finding Books and Journals in the Library Catalog

Use the Catalog search box located in the center of the library's homepage to search for books. To search for books on your topic, use the default Keyword search option and enter your search terms in the For box.

If you have a specific book or author in mind, before you enter your search terms in the For box, change the Search type from Keyword to:

  • Title - to look for a specific book.
  • Author - to look for books by a specific author.

 To look for ebooks only, select Ebooks in the Limits field.

Communication Disorders Databases

Our new discovery tool, OneSearch, searches 150 databases simultaneously, but there are times you want to use the native interface of our databases. For example,  in the case of PubMed, this is a free database you can continue to use after you graduate.  In the case of CINAHLPlus with Full Text (EbscoHost) you have more control over refining your search strategy.

Abstracts, Indexes, Library Catalogs

Full Text Databases

Reference Encyclopedias

Library Catalogs

 

Can't Find the Book You Need Here?

  • Ask the Library to get the book you need via Interlibrary loan.
  • Check worldcat.org to see if any libraries nearby have the book if you need it immediately.
  • Remember, as a CSUN student you have borrowing privileges from any of the other CSU libraries.