Library Session Goals
- Starting point should be
- Find Databases by Subject Communication Disorders + Sciences at http://library.calstate.edu/northridge/databases/subject/communication-disorders-sciences
- Learn how to input key word search terms in OneSearch to scan over 150 databases and the library catalog
- Learn how to log into your OneSearch account (same login as your CSUN email or to portal) to save records
view brief PubMed tutorials on subject searching and Medical Subject headings (MeSH)
- Drug Information Portal at http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp
- click on the record in PubMed for http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10525613 and view the MeSH subject headings especially the substance links til you notice
- note in Link Out there is a link to Hazardous Substance Database
- MeSH in PubMed/Medline, e.g. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/mesh?term=deep brain stimulation
- MEDLINEPlus,, e.g. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/007453.htm
- Tutorial and link to sign up if you don't have an account yet http://library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
- Endnote Web (now called EndNote Basic or EndNote Online ) Sign up -learn how to import records or use an EbscoHost database such as CINAHLPlus, ERIC, PsycINFO, Communication and Mass Media Abstracts to Export records into your Endnote Web Account
- check the MeSH terms for definition-- do a search for articles which are indexed for MeSH headings
8. Evidence based research is
- a limit in the CINAHLPlus database.
- Cochrane database is another good resource for evidence based findings.
- available in Pubmedhealth at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/
Types of Resources
Primary sources are original materials on which other research is based. It includes documents such as poems, diaries, court records, interviews, surveys, fieldwork, and some newspaper articles. It also includes research results generated by experiments, which are published as journal articles in some fields of study.
They are also sets of data, such as census statistics, which have been tabulated, but not interpreted.
Secondary sources describe or analyze the primary sources.
Examples of secondary sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, and books and articles that interpret or review research works.
Examples of tertiary sources includes indexes and abstracts which serve to locate secondary and primary sources. An index will provide a citation which fully identifies the work: author, title of article, title of journal or book, publisher and date of publication, For a journal it will include the volume, issue and pagination. An abstract is a summary of the work being cited. Many indexes and abstract are available now online.
|Subject Area||Primary Source||Secondary Source||Tertiary Source|
|Art||Original artwork||Article critiquing the piece of art||Art Index|
|History||Slave diary||Book about the Underground Railroad||American: History and Life|
|Literature||Poem||Book on a particular genre of poetry||MLA|
|Computer Science||Original research published as a journal article||Introductory textbook on programming||Computer Database|
|Sociology||Indian Education Act of 1972||Journal article on Native American education||ERIC|
Communication Disorders + Sciences Databases
With our new Discovery tool, OneSearch, many of the following databases will be searched. However going into the native interface of each database may give you additional features that can NOT be seen using OneSearch.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
- Cochrane Library (Wiley)Cochrane Library (Wiley)
- Ovid JournalsOvid Journals
- Health Reference Center (Gale)Health Reference Center (Gale)
Full text databases
- SAGE Journals OnlineSAGE Journals Online
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
- Wiley Online LibraryWiley Online Library
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
- Sample Style Sheet for APA Bibliographic Citatons (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample APA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA - Frequently Asked Questions
- Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association.
- APA Style Resources
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)