English 113

Professor Christopher Rosas

The following resources as designed to support English 113 students with finding historical and literary articles and books for their Freshmen Composition research assignment on "Farewell to Manzanar."

Getting Organized - An Overview of the Research Process

As you begin your research, consider taking the following steps.

1. Create a research question or statement; an example might be:

  • How were the political and social conditions significant to the Japanese experience in the 1973 title "Farewell to Manzanar?

2. Create a list of search terms (also known as keywords) that will help you find information about your question or statement

  • internmant camps, political conditions, social conditions, Farewell to Manzanar, Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston, World War II, discrimination, Japanese relocation, analysis, Manzanar, World War II

3. Identify the types of periodicals and other sources you need for the assignment (number of books, articles or websites)

4. Select and search in the appropriate subscription databases

5. Cite your sources in MLA Citation Style

Getting your Research Started

You may or may not know a lot about your American history topic before you begin your research. Often general or specialized encyclopedias, other types of reference books or credible web sites can be used to gather basic information.

  • Using your list of search terms, search the Oviatt Library Catalog for books
    1. Keyword vs. Subject search. These two things sound the same but work differently when you are searching, so be sure to try both.

Possible Subject searches in the Library Catalog:

  • Japanese Americans -- Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945
  • World War, 1939-1945 -- Evacuation and relocation -- United States
  • World War, 1939-1945 -- Japanese Americans
  • Manzanar War Relocation Center

2. Title or author search if you know exactly what book you need.

3. Write down the location and call number so you will know where to find the book.

Some possible titles in the Library catalog:

Altered Lives, Enduring Community: Japanese Americans Remember their World War II Incarceration by Stephen S. Fugita

And Justice for All: An Oral History of the Japanese American Detention Camps by John Tateishi

Concentration Camps, North America: Japanese in the United States and Canada during World War II by Roger Daniels

The Encyclopedia of Japanese American History edited by Brian Niiya

The Great Betryal; The Evacuation of Japanese Americans during World War II by Audrie Girdner

I Remember Manzanar by John M. Gorman

Japanese American History: An A-to-Z Reference from 1868 to Present edited by Brian Niiya

The Manzanar War Relocation Center by Richard Brewer Rice

MasterPlots II. Women's Literature Series edited by Frank N. Magill

The Politics of Prejudice: The Anti-Japanese Movement in California and the struggle for Japanese Inclusion by Roger Daniels

Years of Infamy: The Untold Story of America's Concentration Camps by Michi Weglyn

  • Online Encyclopedias
  • Internet Search Engines such as Google, Yahoo and Ask Jeeves can also be appropriate tools for starting your research when you aren't familiar with a topic. However, it is important to verify this information with a credible source in the library. Information obtained from such search engines may not be reliable. Anyone can make a web site or add information to something like Wikipedia.

Developing a Thesis

(Guide from The Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin - Madison) This website may be useful to refer to when you are creating your research question or statement.

Searching for Articles Through Databases at the Oviatt Library

The following databases may be useful to search for historical and literary information on Japanese Internment camps.

Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) - Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-present.

America: History & Life (EBSCO) - Indexes 1,700 journals as well as dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. 1964-present.

Humanities Full Text (Wilson) - Abstracts and full text from 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature; indexing 1984-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-present.

JSTOR Language & Literature - A comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in language and literature. This is a full-text database.

Project Muse - Includes over 300 full text scholarly journals in humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers. Dates vary, 1990 to present.

Want additional places to search? More articles covering history topics may be explored through the Oviatt Library's History databases.

Websites

The following websites may be useful if trustworthy websites are an accectable source. Check with your professor.

HistoryChannel.com Search Japanese Americans and relocation; also search Japanese internment

Japanese Internment Camps

National Archives: Teaching with Documents: Documents and Photographs Related to Japanese Relocation during World War II

The National Park Service: Confinement and Ethnicity: An Overview of World War II and Japanese American Relocation Sites

Citation and Evaluation Guides

Reference Services and Library Hours

Ask A Librarian - get your questions answered here 24/7 or contact me at coleen.martin@csun.edu

Library and Reference Desk hours