Topic examples (Professor Adams)
|Topics (Dr. Adams call)||Assignment -final group project paper|
The Public Health Problem.
group project - 7 scholarly, peer reviewed articles
check syllabus for full description
- Research Strategies: A Five-Step Guide -- tips for how to get started, find sources, write, and cite
Goals of the Library Session
- Learn how to search the database(s) and look for peer reviewed credible articles.
- Catalog record for Healthy People and Healthy City
- Library Catalog -- search the library catalog for books, journal titles, media and other materials
Search the library's databases to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles.
Use Find Text to identify if CSUN has access, if NOT can request on Interlibrary Loan
News, Current Events, General Information
- Healthy People website offers its own current news at http://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/Connect/Default.aspx
- MedlinePlus Health News -- up-to-date health information from the National Library of Medicine
- Newspaper resources identified on Find Articles by Subject select News and Current Issues at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/categories/news-current-issues
- Academic Search Elite -- a general/multi-subject database useful for finding general, non-scientific articles but also includes a lot of scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles
- Gale Health Reference Center -- search over 900 health and allied health journals with full text articles in 686 journals
Scholarly Journals and Scientific Information
- CINAHL Plus -- scholarly journals from nursing, medicine, and consumer health
- GoogleScholar -- scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines
- PsycINFO - indexes psychology literature
- PubMed -- indexes over 5000 scholarly and research journal articles in medicine, allied health, chemistry, and more. Many links to open access (free articles)
- ScienceDirect -- search full-text journals published by Elsevier
- see additional resources on Find Articles by Subject select Health Sciences + Nursing at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/health-sciences-nursing
OneSearch allows you to search, at this time, 150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog. Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet. OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database.
OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic. You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.
Citation Formatting Tools
Citation managers are software that keep track of your sources and automatically format your citations in a variety of styles.
- APA Quick Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- Citing Archival Materials in APA
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)