The goals of the library sessions are:
- Learn How to do Library and Internet research: determine information need, choose best resources, develop a search strategy, understand keyword and subject searching, how to use boolean operators and truncation symbols, how to cite sources, and more.
- Learn how to use the Library Catalog to find books and journals on your topic. Following is an example of a catalog record for an online journal
Learn how to use Databases by Subject at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes
- Databases by Subject : Health Sciences at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/health-sciences-nursing offers several databases helpful to you while you are registered student at CSUN are: PubMed, CINAHLPlus with full text, Cochrane Evidence based reviews, Heatlh Reference Center Academic.
- Learn how to use PubMed, an open access database available after you graduate -
- PubMed http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib offers the Find Text link which helps you identify if CSUN owns a journal
Learn about OneSearch at http://library.csun.edu/ also a link on each Find Articles by Subject
- Search with OneSearch (http://library.calstate.edu/northridge/articles/) 150 databases and the Oviatt library catalog.
- Save records in your very own electronic folder if you login with the same login you use with your CSUN email.
- at the record level OneSearch offers tips for citing which are often incomplete
- if you Save the record, and then go to Saved records, you can find links on the right to export to EndNoteWeb.
- Learn about the Find Text link link most of our databases offer.
- Register for CSUN's Interlibrary Loan for items our library does NOT have.
Learn how to get help to Citing your Sources at http://library.csun.edu/Guides/ResearchStrategies/CitationStyleGuides
- consider registering for a free Endnote Web account . Review the tutorial links on http://library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
- download the Cite While you Write plug in once you registered for Endnote to use in your Microsoft Word. Currently the full MicroSoft Word with Cite While U Write plug-in is available in the Computer Lab, Third Floor, East Wing