CSUN WordmarkOviatt Library Wordmark

Secondary Education 600: Overview

Recommended Databases

Start your research with these databases. They are most likely to have in-depth information relating to your topics for this class.

Go here for a complete list of Education databases.

Select a Database

  • Use Databases A-Z to select a specific database or use Databases by Subject to view databases listed by subject.
  • OneSearch allows you to search across most of our article databases at once, and then narrow results by topic, subject area, item type, and date range.

Check for Full Text Using Find Text

If the article isn't available full text in the database you are searching, click the Find Text button to see if we have access to the full text through another database or in print. A new page opens that will have one or more of the following links:

  • Full text available via [database name]: Click to access the full-text online. If the link takes you to a publication-level page, you can navigate to the article by first choosing the correct year, then the correct month or volume number, then the issue, and then selecting the article from the displayed table of contents.
  • We have this. Check availability in CSU Northridge Catalog: We have the article in print. Click to view the catalog record for the journal or magazine. You'll need to note the call number and then go to the fourth floor to get the article.
  • Request document via Interlibrary Loan: We do not have the article online or in print. You can request the article via interlibrary loan (takes approximately ten working days).

For more information, see About Find Text.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Only current CSUN students, faculty and staff can access our databases from off campus. To access the databases from off campus, click the name of the database. You will then see a screen asking you to log in, using your CSUN User ID and password (the same ID and password you use to log in to the portal).

An alternative is to download and use the campus Virtual Private Network. This allows you to use your computer as if it was on campus. The VPN also supports uploading files to your campus udrive.

For more information, see Accessing Library Resources from Off-Campus and the Library's Copyright Statement (in particular, the Appropriate Use of Oviatt Library's Electronic Resources section).

Search Strategy

 

1. Once you have chosen a topic, write it down in the form of a question or brief statement:

What is the relationship between SAT scores and college success?

2. Underline the key words and phrases that are most specific to your topic.

What is the relationship between SAT scores and college success?

3. Write down each key word or phrase, and underneath it, list synonyms or related terms.

4. Use a dictionary or thesaurus to find additional keywords. For example:

SAT

  • scholastic aptitude test

college

  • university

success

  • achievement

 

5. Use the Search Tips to formulate your search strategy. (Boolean search, Truncation, Wildcards, and Phrase Searches). 

6. Now you can locate resources in a database or library catalog.

Example of a search strategy:

 (SAT or “scholastic aptitude test”) AND (college* or universit*) AND (sucee* or achieve*)