Welcome to the Library, Kinesiology 200, Professor Rohrer's students!
- Learn how to search for peer-reviewed sources across the Kinesiology subdisciplines of exercise physiology, biomechanics, motor behavior, sport psychology, sport sociology, sport history, sport philosophy, Athletic Training, Physical Education, and/or dance
- Learn the difference between a peer-reviewed source (electronic or not) and one that is not (e.g., many web sites). Also learn many of the databases help with identifying peer reviewed articles and the library also subscribes to the Ulrich's Directory
- Be familiar with the following EbscoHost databases: (EbscoHost databases have an Export to EndNote Web which is very helpful to transfer bibliographic information on the articles, books you are identifying)
- SportsDiscus (EbscoHost)
- indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and theses, from 1800-present
- helps with citing but there are often errors for APA style you will need to correct
- Academic Search Elite (EbscoHost)
Abstracts to 3,000 journals (over 1,500 peer-reviewed journals), with full text to more than 2,000 of the journals. Dates may vary, most from 1985-
- PsycInfo -(EbscoHost)
- indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations in pscyhology
- Google Scholar -
- indexes mostly scholarly journal articles all disciplines. Be sure to add CSUN library in the settings so you can link into our Oviatt Library subscriptions
- Library Catalog - Oviatt library's holdings:books, journals, videos, CDs, CSUN theses...
- Learn how to use OneSearch - OneSearch is the Library's new discovery tool which looks through the contents of about Oviatt Library 150 subscription databases
NOTE: Additional databases recommended for Kinesiology can be found by using Find Articles By Subject at http://library.csun.edu/xerxes/databases/subject/kinesiology
- PubMed -indexes over 5,000 medical and allied health mostly peer reviewed journals. This is a freely available database on the Internet, but in order to retrieve articles from subscription databases, you need to connect using Oviatt Library's link http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=cacsunlib
which will offer you links so you use Oviatt library's subscription journals
OneSearch allows you to search, at this time, 150 databases as well as the Oviatt Library catalog. Although 150 databases, many indexes (e.g. PubMed, PsycInfo, Physical Education Index, LLBA...), full text databases (e.g. ScienceDirect, Sage Journals, JSTOR, Springer, Taylor & Franics...) are a lot of databases, OneSearch does NOT contain the contents of all our databses yet. OneSearch does offer a consistent way to save the records you want to keep, and if you view your saved records, on the right there is a "Export to EndNoteWeb" command where you can easily send the bibliographic information on the source you are viewing into your personal (editable) citation management database.
OneSearch is very useful to look up scholarly article citations (use quick keyword search author surname key words in title, or type in the article Doi if your citation offers a Doi), or do a simple keyword search on topic. You can identify academic articles easily, often be advised article is "peer reviewed" and see lots of hints on other keywords you can use for your search strategy.
Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video:
Citing your sources EndNote Web
- Learn how to sign up and use Endnote Web . You can import bibliographic records from a variety of resources to create your own personal database of articles, books, websites. Use EndNote Web to collect, manage, and create a bibliography or works cited list from your citations.
Registration is free while you are a student. First time, to sign up for your EndNoteWeb account, you can connect directly to http://library.csun.edu/restricted/endnote.scr. In addition to asking Marcia Henry and other librarians for help, Endnote Web will also answer your questions about installing the Cite While you Write plugin for Microsoft Word on your own computer. If you install Cite While You Write plugin on your own computer in your MicroSoft Word, be sure to set Preferences so it goes to the url:
on your own computer you can put in the working email address you used to sign up with EndNoteWeb, your password, and check Keep me logged in.
Tutorials for Endnote Web are provided at library.csun.edu/FindResources/i-Endnoteweb
Endnote Web technical support's telephone number is (800)336-4474
Call Monday-Friday 6:00am-5:00 pm (Pacific Coast Time)
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (print version)
- Sample Style Sheet for APA Bibliographic Citatons (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- Sample APA-Style Annotated Bibliography (PDF) by Dr. Karin Durán
- APA Style Guide (PDF) by Eric Garcia
- APA - Frequently Asked Questions
- Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the American Psychological Association.
- APA Style Resources
Citation Formatting Tools
Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)
- Authors are authorities in their fields.
- Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
- Individual issues have little or no advertising.
- Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
- Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
- Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
- Articles use jargon of the discipline.