The following resources are designed to support Northridge Academy High School students with finding newspaper articles and other specific information about Los Angeles and California.
Take the time to plan your research strategy.
- Focus the topic and create list of keywords.
- Which events in Los Angeles and California would you like to research?
- Think about ways to describe each event and create a list of keywords.
- Locate appropriate resources:
- Reference Books - there are encyclopedias for almost any subject
- Articles - newspapers, magazines, and journals in print or online
- Statistics - government sources are good for statistics
- Web sites - verify information
3. Find, evaluate and record the information.
- Are your sources all credible? Who wrote them? Experts?
4. Organize the information and create a rough draft.
- 5Ws - Who, What, Where, When, Why (and How)
5. Create the final Power Point, Movie Maker or Poster Board.
6. Review your final product for corrections and cite your sources.
- Citing sources tells your teachers where you found your information. This includes using direct quotes and paraphrasing someone else's ideas and words. Using the work of others to support your argument is good, but you must give credit to the original author.
Recommended Databases and Other Resources
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Ethnic NewsWatch - Full-text collection of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Over 270 titles, 1960-present.
GeneralOne File (Gale) - Check the Documents to Full Text box to retrieve articles online; check the Peer-Reviewed box if you are looking for scholarly articles.
Los Angeles Times Historical - Full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-1986).
Proquest Newspapers - Full text access to over 600 US and international newspapers, hundreds of other news wires and news sources. Dates vary.
Sage Reference Online - Full text to more than 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Other Online Resources
Your assignment asks you to find information about living in the city of Los Angeles and in California. Below are links to online sources that may be useful for this specific assignment.
LearnCalifornia.org - An electronic resource for students and teachers interested in Calfornia history.
City of Los Angeles - The official site of Los Angeles, this webpage provides information about many local services and resources.
Congress.org - U.S. Congressional Representatives can be found by zipcode.
San Fernando Valley Economic Research Center - This webpage provides U.S. Census data for the San Fernando Valley.
San Fernando Valley Statistics and Facts - This Oviatt Library webpage which provides detailed information about the Valley.
U.S. Census Bureau - U.S. Census data is available here.
United States Senate - U.S. State Senators can be identified at this site.
Finding Articles Online if you are not at the Oviatt Library
You can access the Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) databases from home by logging on with your LAPL card. To access the General OneFile database look for the letter “G.” The General OneFile database will meet the needs of many assignments.
Citation and Evaluation Guides
- MLA Style Guide for High School Students
- Why cite? Avoiding plagiarism
- Evaluating Print and Internet Resources
Reference Services and Library Hours
Ask A Librarian - get your questions answered 24/7