CSUN WordmarkOviatt Library Wordmark

QS 115 Rodrick

Jennifer Rodrick

This course guide is meant to help you review the items we discussed during our library session for QS 115.  Your assignment calls for you to create an annotated bibliography in preparation for your course Project Web essay, which has the prompt:  How has social media and the internet helped/hindered the advancement of the acceptance of the queer identity?"  Remember that you will need to access scholarly sources/ materials through the library for this assignment and topic.

What's an Annotated Bibliography?

Types of Resources

Primary Sources

Primary sources are original materials on which other research is based. It includes documents such as poems, diaries, court records, interviews, surveys, fieldwork, and some newspaper articles. It also includes research results generated by experiments, which are published as journal articles in some fields of study.

They are also sets of data, such as census statistics, which have been tabulated, but not interpreted.

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources describe or analyze the primary sources.

Examples of secondary sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, and books and articles that interpret or review research works.

Tertiary Sources

Examples of tertiary sources includes indexes and abstracts which serve to locate secondary and primary sources. An index will provide a citation which fully identifies the work: author, title of article, title of journal or book, publisher and date of publication, For a journal it will include the volume, issue and pagination. An abstract is a summary of the work being cited. Many indexes and abstract are available now online.

Examples
Subject Area Primary Source Secondary Source Tertiary Source
Art Original artwork Article critiquing the piece of art Art Index
History Slave diary Book about the Underground Railroad American: History and Life
Literature Poem Book on a particular genre of poetry MLA
Computer Science Original research published as a journal article Introductory textbook on programming Computer Database
Sociology Indian Education Act of 1972 Journal article on Native American education ERIC

 

Scholarly Journals (Peer-reviewed/Referreed)

American Journal of Philology cover
  • Authors are authorities in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in endnotes, footnotes, or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review or refereed process.
  • Articles are usually reports on scholarly research.
  • Illustrations usually take the form of charts and graphs.
  • Articles use jargon of the discipline.

Databases

Good databases to start with for LGBTQ Studies (Databases A-Z)

  • GenderWatch
  • Contemporary Women’s Issues
  • PyscINFO
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • America: History and Life
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Project Muse 

Journals

Selected LGBTQ Journals:

  • GLQ: a Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
  • Havard Gay and Lesbian Review
  • International Gay and Lesbian Review
  • International Journal of Transgenderism
  • Journal of Law and Sexuality
  • Gay & Lesbian Law Journal
  • Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
  • GLBTQ Social Sciences

To access these journals or any journal, start by:

  1. Going to http://library.csun.edu/
  2. Select the “Journal” tab
  3. Enter the name of the journal and select search
  4. If available, the journal will be displayed

Narrow or Broaden Your Search

OneSearch

Visit the OneSearch FAQ to learn all about how to use the library's new online OneSearch tool to find articles, books and more. Or, watch the How to Use OneSearch video: