CSUN WordmarkOviatt Library Wordmark

QS 401 - Pop Icons: Queer Representation and Critical Perspective

Professor Amanda Harrison

This course guide is intended to help you locate research materials for your QS 401 Research Assignments via Oviatt Library resources.  While you are researching the role of pop icons in LGBTQ culture, with a primary focus on Madonna - you should consider consulting both general article databases as well as resources that are rich in content from Queer Studies, Gender and Women's Studies and Music scholarship.

In addition to the General Multi Subject Database suggestions listed below you should also consider searching the following Music Databases:

You can also consult the following Queer Studies Databases:

Streaming video collection for the study of LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences. Includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select f . . .

More information

Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Includes scholarly journal articles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports that focus on how gender impact . . .
 

Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous individuals . . .

More information

Multi-Subject Databases to consider searching as well...

A statistical data repository contains more than 25 billion data points from 70+ source organizations. Census results, business data, health metrics, political science data and more are included in over 4 billions datasets presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry

More information

Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
More information

Indexes over 5,200 general interest and scholarly journals, including titles in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, with full text articles from over 3,000 journals.
More information

 

Cross-searching of H.W. Wilson databases. Contents include: full-text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 dissertations . . .

More information

Journals

Selected LGBTQ Journals:

  • GLQ: a Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
  • Havard Gay and Lesbian Review
  • International Gay and Lesbian Review
  • International Journal of Transgenderism
  • Journal of Law and Sexuality
  • Gay & Lesbian Law Journal
  • Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide
  • GLBTQ Social Sciences

To access these journals or any journal, start by:

  1. Going to http://library.csun.edu/
  2. Select the “Journal” tab
  3. Enter the name of the journal and select search
  4. If available, the journal will be displayed

Select a Database

  • Use Databases A-Z to select a specific database or use Databases by Subject to view databases listed by subject.
  • OneSearch allows you to search across most of our article databases at once, and then narrow results by topic, subject area, item type, and date range.