Banner Image - Databases

Databases A-Z

219 databases

Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Cross searching of the business databases: ABI/Inform Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Many articles full-text. Dates vary.
ABI/INFORM Dateline searches 175 fulltext local and regional business tabloids, magazines, daily newspapers, wire services from 1985-
Indexing, abstracts to articles from more than 2,800 leading management publications, full text for over 1,800 titles, information on 60,000 companies, plus business dissertations, 1971-
Indexes 750 full-text business periodicals and newsletters, 1971-
Multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Provides citations to all ACM publications and full text for over 40 journals as well as conference proceedings and newsletters. The ACM Guide to Computing Literature contains over 750,000 citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations from over 3,000 publishers. Coverage varies. Funding towards access to this database generously provided in honor of John Rees, CSUN, B.S., M.S., in Computer Science, 2009, 2011.
Digital archive of more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library. Organized into two bibliographic data sets: The NAL Online Public Access Catalog containing citations to books, audiovisuals, serials, and other materials; and the Article Citation Database including citations, many with abstracts, to journal articles, book chapters, reports, and reprints, selected primarily from the materials found in the NAL Catalog.
Digital archive of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1-3, 1690-1922; African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; California's Historical Newspapers, 1850-1922; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
Indexes 1,700 journals as well as dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. 1964-
Offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Complete contents of almost 40 journals published by the American Chemical Society. Coverage dates vary.
Presents population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the United States Census Bureau. Data sets section offers tables for the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census, and Population Estimates.
Historical collections for the National Digital Library at Library of Congress. The images are arranged in subject collections covering many areas of American history and life.
Collection contains digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 American magazines and journals originating 1741 - 1900.
Digital collection of primary source material on many aspects of early American history. Contains the legislative and executive documents of Congress from 1789 to 1838.
Indexes 750 anthropology journals, 1957-
Indexes over 5,500 journals. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature. Coverage: 19th century to the present.
Full-text archive of all American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals. Titles also available via Wiley Online Library.
Covering 400 art publications: indexing 1984-, abstracts 1994-, select full text 1997-
Indexes over 600 journals, 1984-
Index to articles from journals published around the world, including yearbooks and select museum bulletins. Cumulative index to Art Index volumes 1-32, 1929-1984.
A digital archive containing nearly 500,000 world art and architecture images. Requires Sun Java 1.3 and Flash Player 6.
Indexes over 1,650 journals, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from American Theological Library Association (ATLA)'s print indexes on religion and theology. 1949-
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Provides cross-searchable access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and an extensive color image bank as well as other resources. Access restricted to 3 users at a time.
Includes the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), covering 1990-2007, and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009.
Covers biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals. Indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Coverage: 1946-
Indexes over 4,000 journals in life sciences covering botany, microbiology, pharmacology, biochemistry, evolutionary ecology, neurology and toxicology. 1969-. Access restricted to 10 users at a time.
Combines resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender Archive, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and Black Literature Index. Includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and dissertations and masters theses.
Indexes the Black Literature microfiche collection which covers 110 black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Full text backfile for Chicago Defender,1910 to 1975; Daily Defender,1956-1957; New York Amsterdam News, 1962-1963.
Indexes scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean, and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.
Full-text interdisciplinary essays written by leading scholars on the Black Experience.
Indexes reviews of current fiction and non-fiction from over 8,000 periodicals. Includes also over 100,000 full text reviews. 1983-
Provides access to nearly eight decades worth of literary critique, evaluation, and thought. Includes book summaries, abstracts, and citations for adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
Full text of articles from more than 510 business magazines and scholarly journals. 1995-
Access to full text articles on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers and acquisitions to current management theory and company overview. 1980-
Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Directories of publishing opportunities in journals relating to accounting, economics and finance, management, and marketing. Access generously provided by the College of Business & Economics.
The Catalog of the California State University Libraries.
Digital archive of American historical newspapers from California.
Indexes U.S. government publications, 1976-
Full text access to The Chicago Defender 1905-1975 in Proquest Historical Newspapers.
Includes over 67,000 records on Mexican-American and Chicano topics. 1960-
Collection of English-language sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980. Provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China’s interaction with the West from Macartney’s first Embassy to China in 1793, through to the Nixon/Heath visits to China in 1972-74.
Online source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Includes access to The Almanac of Higher Education. Updated daily. 1989-
Indexes over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from 1,600 journals; provides full-text access to many journals and other sources, 1937-
Several evidence based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
Includes over 50,000 college catalogs representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.
Abstracts over 600 journals in communication studies, speech, mass media, journalism, linguistics, and communicative disorders. Full text for over 440 journals. 1915-
Abstracts 5000 engineering journals, books and conference proceedings, 1969-
Indexes 659 computer journals with full text articles from 354 journals, 1980-
Online video collection for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Features counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, and lectures. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
News, statistics and trends for 192 countries.
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science and technology.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
California State University, Northridge campus newspaper.
Collection of primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Database includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions.
Collection of scholarly research in the Humanities and Social Sciences, covering more than 1 million dissertations and theses. Coverage: 1637-present.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
EEBO (Early English Books Online) contains digital images of over 125,000 works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Provides access to thousands of full-text electronic books. Includes subscribed titles from eBook Academic Collection and purchased titles from eBook Collection (EBSCO).
Cross-searchable multidisciplinary database of electronic books featuring publications from major academic, scientific, technical, medical and professional publishers. Includes over 85,000 titles in multiple subject areas. To download e-books, users must create a personal Ebrary account and download the free Adobe Digital Editions software. Compatible with most devices, including iPad, iPhone, eReaders, laptops, etc., but not Kindle. For instructions, consult the Help Guide.
Includes: Academic Search Premier, America: History & Life, Anthropology Plus, ATLA Religion Database, Business Source Premier, Chicano Database, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, Communication & Mass Media Complete, eBook Collection, including eBook Academic Collection, EconLit, Education Research Complete, ERIC, Film & Television Literature Index, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GeoRef, GreenFILE, Historical Abstracts, Index to Jewish Periodicals, International Political Science Abstracts, MAS Ultra School Edition, Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, Middle Search Plus, Military & Government Collection, Music Index, Philosopher's Index, Primary Search, PsycARTICLES, PsycCRITIQUES, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, SPORTDiscus; and former H.W. Wilson databases: Art Full Text, Art Index, Art Index Retrospective, Biography Index, Book Review Digest Plus, Book Review Digest Retrospective, Business Abstracts with Full Text, Education Index Retrospective, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, Humanities Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective, OmniFile Full Text Mega, Readers' Guide Retrospective, Readers' Guide Full Text, and Social Sciences Full Text.
American Economic Association's database to economic literature. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers, and book reviews. 1969-
Articles from over 550 education journals; indexing 1983-, abstracts 1994-, select full text 1996-
Collection of streaming videos developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Indexes more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks, and cites approximately 850,000 articles, including book reviews. Coverage: 1929-1983. Access generously provided by the College of Education.
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, and full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs. Access generously provided by the College of Education.
Human Relations Area Files (eHRAF) on the cultures of the world, past and present, indexed by culture and subject.
Provides access to digital images of 150,000 complete books published during the 18th Century, relevant to the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Full text access to over 180 journals in management, applied science and technology, engineering, health sciences, and library and information science. 1989-
Provides over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed material taken from libraries and archives worldwide, 1492-1962. Access generously provided by Dr. Jeffrey Auerbach.
Updated edition features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Service to manage citations and produce a works cited or references list. Import citations from a variety of sources and choose a variety of citation styles for a works cited/references list, including APA and MLA.
Combined Compendex and GEOBASE database allows for searching on a broad range of topics within the engineering and earth sciences disciplines. Coverage is from 1969 to present. Updated weekly.
Full text to more than 2,200 digests, and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Abstracts 775 education journals, ED reports, 1966-
Free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, 1966-
Full-text collection of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Over 270 titles, 1960-
Collection of classic and contemporary documentaries for the study of anthropology, ethnography, and social psychology. Covers every continent and hundreds of unique cultures. Includes interviews, field notes, study guides, and footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers in the field. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Indexes over 3,500 general interest and scholarly journals, including titles in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology, with full text articles in over 2,000 journals. 1980-
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Formerly known as GPO Access, FDsys provides access to official Federal Government information. Offers a collection of full-text databases and the text of federal bills, Congressional Record, the Federal Register, and other legal sources.
Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. federal agencies that provide data and trend information on topics such as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.
Indexes over 350 U.S. and international film and television periodicals, including popular magazines, scholarly journals, and trade publications. In addition, selected content is chosen from thousands of additional publications that contain relevant content. Dates of coverage vary.
Multidisciplinary streaming video service providing access to digital educational films.
Provides access to the archival and manuscript collections held by Special Collections and Archives in the Oviatt Library at California State University, Northridge.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Includes: General OneFile, Expanded Academic ASAP, Literature Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Something About the Author, Literature Resource Center, MLA International Bibliography, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Business and Company ASAP, and Gale Directory Library.
Online access to directories: American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory; Brands and their Companies; Business Rankings Annual; Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory; Encyclopedia of Associations; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; Market Share Reporter; National Faculty Directory; Research Centers Directory; Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans; Tradeshows Worldwide; and Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies.
Cross-searching of multiple Gale databases: General OneFile, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Business and Company ASAP, and Opposing Viewpoints in Context.
Over 100 encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Scholarly articles on the musical heritage, traditions, themes, genres, practices and performance of music from every continent.
Publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, 1970-
Indexes over 3400 business sources with full text to 2723 journals. 1980-
Indexes over 9,700 journals; full text to over 5,000 journals, 1980-
Indexes 4489 sources, newspapers, reference books and journals with full text articles in 3523 sources, 1980-
Indexes, abstracts and full text from over 250 periodicals. Indexing 1984-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
Indexes over 2,000 journals across the earth sciences including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography and geomechanics. 1980-
Abstracts more than 3,000 publications in geology and earth sciences. North America coverage from 1785-, international coverage from 1933-
An easy-to-use online service that scours more than a billion web pages for pertinent information.
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to buy or borrow them. In Google Book Search, the user may view pages from the book, find out "more about this book," examine content-related advertisements, and use links to the publisher's website and booksellers.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports across many disciplines and sources. On your first visit, set Google Scholar preferences: select "Settings," click “Library Links” on left menu, type "CSUN" in the box “Show library access links…” and click Find Library; check the box next to "CSU, Northridge - SFX Find It at CSUN;" and click the Save button.
Collection of famous speeches of the 20th and 21st centuries. Includes introduction detailing historical context, significance and the rhetorical devices found in each speech.
Indexes scholarly, government and general interest titles covering information on all aspects of human impact on the environment. Multidisciplinary database connecting the environment with disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Contains more than 384,000 records, with selected full text for more than 4,700 records.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Indexes more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. Many of the citations are linked to full text. 1970-
Streaming video collection defines and explores today's latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society--with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews. Access generously provided by NIH/NLM Women's Health Resources Dissemination Outreach Project.
Indexes over 900 health and allied health journals with full text articles in 686 journals, 1980-
Digital archive of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Covers scholarly literature in history. All world history (1450 to present) is covered EXCEPT that of the United States and Canada. These are covered by America: History & Life. 1955-
Source for quantitative facts of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
Provides full text access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, national strategy documents, and theses and reports from universities, organizations and local and state agencies. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of Grants and Training.
Also known as Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews Series A (NARA): Human and Experimental, database abstracts more than 6,000 academic journals, books, reports and conference proceedings relevant to human nutrition. 1991-
Articles from a range of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage: 1907-1984.
Collection of over 3,000 full-text titles in the humanities.
Abstracts and full text from 400 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, and world literature; indexing 1984-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Provides full-text access to IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) for journals, magazines, conference proceedings and standards plus All Societies Periodicals Package, 1988-. Includes backfile of Proceedings of the IEEE, 1913-, and journals and conference proceedings of IEEE societies, 1912-.
Indexes English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. 1988-
Covers nearly all aspects of the world of music; draws current content from more than 370 international music periodicals from over 20 countries with over 60 full text titles. Coverage: 1874- (full text: 1996-)
Includes current indexing and abstracts from over 1,000 journals published from 1951- to the present. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
JSTOR   more information
Comprehensive archive of back issues of core scholarly journals in the arts, business, humanities, sciences and social sciences.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Full-text database containing news, legal, business, and medical information. Dates vary.
Indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. 1980-
Indexes nearly 1,500 periodicals, with citations to more than 500,000 articles, book reviews, books, book chapters and library school theses. Coverage: 1905-1983.
Indexes more than 600 periodicals in library and information science, plus books, research reports and proceedings. 1960s-
Abstracts and indexes over 1,500 journals in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage: 1973-
Full-text access to Something about the Author, Dictionary of Literary Biography and Literature Criticism Online collections: Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Provides one search access to Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Shakespearean Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Children's Literature Review. Supported by a generous donation from The SAGE Society.
Full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), an African-American owned and operated newspaper that puts emphasis on issues concerning the African-American community and its readers.
Full-page images and article images from the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-1990).
Online collection of more than 1,900 video-based training courses on a variety of topics and software. New courses and topics are added every week. Students, faculty, and staff can access training videos from their tablets, smartphones, or desktops. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Library of primary sources in American social history from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction. Contains over 8500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. Also provides access to more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Reviews and citations to research literature in mathematics and related areas compiled from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, 1940-
Indexes, abstracts more than 4,600 medical journals, 1950-
Indexes, abstracts about 5,000 journals on medicine, allied health and life sciences. 1948-
Provides access to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, dictionaries, organizations, publications, directories, consumer health libraries, MEDLINE and other medical databases.
Provides a comprehensive guide to over 2,700 contemporary testing instruments. Offers evaluations of the latest assessments in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests are provided.
Provides access to US taxable and municipal fixed income and evaluation data. From pre-sale through defeasance, it includes both issuer and bond level terms and condition data, US taxable bonds, municipal bonds and retail notes.
Provides access to U.S. and international company data; and U.S. and international company annual reports.
Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
Collection of periodicals, academic journals, and current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Indexes 4,000 journals and series in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, 1926-
Comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Contains book reviews, obituaries, and news and articles about music, musicians and the music industry. 1952-
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Free access to numerous publications of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
Abstracts, indexes, full-text publications, and user resources in the area of criminal justice and related subjects. 1970-
Online music library offering streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs on classical, jazz, world, folk, classic pop and rock music.
Full text access to the New York Times from 1851-2010.
Includes content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New information is added daily to featured and current reports.
Database of occupational safety and health publications supported by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Dates vary; 1930-
Indexes new publications and technical reports from hundreds of government agencies and other organizations, 1990-
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Indexes and links to freely available academically-oriented digital resources in all subject areas.
Cross searching of Art Full Text, Business Full Text, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Readers' Guide Retrospective, Readers' Guide Full Text, and Social Sciences Full Text; plus Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text.
Collection of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Career resource for administrators, singers, technical/production professionals, teachers, and creative and performing opera artists. Provides information on auditions and other mainstage, training, educational, management, and competition opportunities.
Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. Updated daily.
CSUN University Library Catalog indexes books, periodicals, media and other materials held by the Oviatt Library.
Collections feature historically significant documents, photographs, oral histories, artistic works and exhibit materials selected from the Oviatt Library Special Collections and Archives. The breadth of these collections is focused in the area of Southern California history with emphasis on the San Fernando Valley.
Full text access to hundreds of scientific, technical and medical journals. Includes access to former Kluwer journals through 2005. Access limited to 1 user at a time for current titles.
Gateway to online art resources: Grove Art Online, comprising the full text of The Dictionary of Art (1996); The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access restricted to 1 user at a time.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on Latin American Studies. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and are keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations. Includes a vast range of disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science.
Includes definitions for most of the words in the English language, information on their origins and quotations showing their range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.
Gateway to online music resources: Grove Music Online, comprising the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.; The Oxford Companion to Music; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Collection of over 200 cross-searchable language and subject reference works from Oxford Quick Reference and Oxford Reference Library, including titles in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews in all major fields of philosophy. Includes over 680 journals published since 1940.
Indexes 293 journals, reports, conferences and more, 1970-; abstracts 2001-
Citations on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress from 1871 to the present.
Indexes about 400 journals plus more, 1986 to present.
Full text searchable database of the newspaper Pravda, the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, published between 1912-2009.
Also known as Anatomy.tv, Primal Pictures provides a dynamic interactive multimedia overview of human anatomy in the area of sports and therapy. Features three-dimensional animations that illustrate function and biomechanics. Videos and textual descriptions supplement the animations and models. Access restricted to 5 users at a time. Access generously provided by NIH/NLM Women's Health Resources Dissemination Outreach Project.
Provides full text for more than 70 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Coverage: 1990-
Includes over 300 full text scholarly journals in humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers. Dates vary, 1990 to present.
PROLA   more information
American Physical Society journals including Physical Review A,B,C,D, and E, as well as Physical Review Letters, 1893-
Includes: ABI/INFORM Complete, Dissertations and Theses (Humanities and Social Sciences), ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, GeoRef, International Index to Music Periodicals, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, Physical Education Index, Proquest Newsstand, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, and Historical Newspapers (Chicago Defender, including Daily Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, and New York Times).
Provides access to full-page scanned images of newspapers, digitized from microfilm. Titles included: Barron's and Los Angeles Times (Record ed.). Coverage: 2008-
Full text access to a large selection of national and international newspapers, news wires and news sources. Coverage: 1984-
Full text access to peer-reviewed articles from more than 50 journals in psychology, including journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), covering general, specialized, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. 1894-
Full text reviews of current books and popular films in psychology. Replaces the print journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books. More than 39,000 reviews included. 1956-
Indexes over 2,000 journals plus books and book chapters, 1987-present.
Database contains citations for over 70,000 USGS publications, including numbered series published as early as 1880, and full text and thematic map content for over 40,000 publications.
Offers Medline (currently indexing over 5,000 journals), several molecular biology and chemical databases. Some full text journals and books, 1950-
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
RAND State Statistics contains nearly 200 databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Includes RAND California with 80 detailed databases on California.
Full text of articles from some 215 journals (1994-), abstracts (1984-) and indexing of over 400 periodicals (1983-).
Indexes 375 most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890-1982.
Provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications. Updated daily.
Federal tax resources including Federal Tax Handbook, United States Tax Reporter, IRS rulings, legislation, Federal tax cases, Federal Taxes Weekly Alert Newsletter, and 6 tax journals (WG&L)
Richard K. Miller & Associates publications include market research handbooks covering the following sectors: Casinos, Gaming & Wagering; Consumer Behavior; Entertainment, Media & Advertising; Healthcare Business; International Consumers; Leisure; Restaurant, Food & Beverage; Retail Business; Sports; and Travel & Tourism.
Achives of public opinion surveys. Users can search the "iPOLL Databank" which is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Users can also search for datasets using "RoperExpress" which allows download of about 75% of public opinion studies conducted in the US and many recent studies from outside of the US.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Contains thousands of full-text computer manuals, directories, and reference works. Access restricted to a limited number of CSU simultaneous users.
Full text to over 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine.
Collection of over 350 electronic encyclopedias and handbooks in the social sciences and education.
Gateway to over 50 million pages of selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies.
Index with abstracts to over 1,700 scientific journals published by Elsevier; with full-text access to over 1,400 journals.
Research tool that provides access to the Chemical Abstracts databases, including Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry.
Provides full-text access to journals published by the American Institute of Physics, including AIP Digital Archive and Physics Today Digital Archive.
Articles from 300 journals in the social sciences; indexing 1983-, abstracts 1984-, select full text 1994-
Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serial publications, 1980-
Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications, plus book chapters, 1952-
Offers bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. Covers journals and books going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
Full-text access to over 1,300 academic journals, 1997-
Online access to Standard & Poor's industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more.
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Data presented ranges from 2012 edition to the historical abstracts compiled since 1878. Note: U.S. Census Bureau ceased compilation of the Statistical Abstract with the 2012 edition.
Indexes books and journal articles on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies. Coverage: 1995-
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science contains 50- to 100-page lectures synthesizing an important research or development topic, organized by series.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Collection of more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Access generously provided by Campus Quality Fee.
Comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America.
Complete digital edition of The Times (London, England), 1785-2006.
Searchable database of bibliographic information on approximately 34,000 ethnographic sound recordings. Most were recorded between 1933 and 1950.
Contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Provide key information about the censuses, surveys, and other programs that are the sources of data products, including historical censuses.
Contains census statistics, as well as social, demographic and economic information.
Reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes. Coverage: 1817-1994.
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types published worldwide: academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.
USA Trade Online   more information
Specific U.S. import and export information on more than 18,000 commodities by commodity, partner country, and customs port district. NOTE: Available in the Library only at Reserves, Periodicals and Microform workstations 8 and 9. Select the database from Internet Explorer Favorites menu. No off-campus access.
U.S. government's official web portal. Formerly called FirstGov.gov.
Jump to titles beginning with: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W |
Multidisciplinary database providing access to citations from more than 12,000 research journals worldwide. Includes the following citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present). Cited reference searching is available.
WRDS is a comprehensive Internet-based data management system that allows researchers to easily retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. The data covers companies, including security prices and trading volume, income and balance sheet items, stock market indices, bond prices and interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, and a wide array of macroeconomic time series, global data, marketing and industry reports. Includes: COMPUSTAT and CRSP (Center for Research in Security Prices). Access restricted to current CSUN faculty, students, and staff. Requires user registration. Access generously provided by the College of Business and Economics.
Full text access to over 1,200 journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes access to Wiley Online Books in classical and cultural studies, language and linguistics, literature, philosophy, and religion and theology.
Basic statistics and facts on countries of the world in many categories (maps, people, geography, economy, government, transportation, communications, military, etc.).
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. Includes books, music CDs, videos, digital content, and article citations, available in many languages.
International database containing financial profiles.