You are here

Main Content

About Bonita J. Campbell

Bonnie J. CampbellBonnie J. Campbell

Dr. Bonita J. Campbell has left an indelible legacy for California State University, Northridge and the College of Engineering and Computer Science. Following a decade in industry, Campbell became the first woman in engineering at CSUN to hold a tenured faculty position and to serve as a department chair. She initiated her 33-year CSUN career by founding and building robust programs that brought national recognition to the College and quintupled the percentage of women students enrolled in its programs. Active in faculty governance, her numerous roles included terms as Faculty Vice President and Statewide Academic Senator. She also held the positions of Associate Vice President for Academic Planning for five years and Department Chair for a cumulative total of thirteen years.

During her last years at CSUN, Campbell pioneered the creation of the Department of Manufacturing Systems Engineering and Management. Bonnie J. CampbellWhile serving as the Founding Department Chair, she established five degree programs, quintupled the size of the department, gained the first program accreditation, supervised hundreds of graduate students and funded two department endowments, the B.J. Campbell Endowment for MSEM Undergraduate Scholarships and the Dr. Bonita J. Campbell Engineering Management Endowment, which supports program operations. Campbell also founded the MSEM Student Awards Endowment and has contributed generously to countless campus scholarships and programs. Honored with campus, regional and national awards for her excellence as a teacher and an educator, Campbell's greatest joy has been working with students to achieve their educational and professional goals.

Her legacy is aptly expressed by the numerous successful College alumni who are making their homes and careers around the world. In this spirit, CSUN celebrates the Dr. Bonita J. Campbell Endowment for Women in Science and Engineering.

Most recently, Bonita J. Campbell gave a speech at the 2019 Volunteer Service Awards and was honored for the 2019 Dean Ed Peckham Award.

Watch Dr. Bonita J. Campbell's Acceptance Speech

2019 Volunteer Service Awards Image Gallery

Mark Stover, Bonita J. Campbell (Bonnie), Hazel Valladarez, Laurene Abato-Earwood, and Marilee Wheaton
CSUN President Diane F. Harrison, Bonita J. Campbell, Alumni Association President Cindy Chernow
CSUN President Diane F. Harrison,  Laurene Abato-Earwood, Alumni Association President Cindy Chernow
Awardees and attendees of the Volunteer Service Awards
Laurene Abato-Earwood and Bonita J. Campbell
Hazel Valladarez and Bonita J. Campbell
Bonnie Campbell with family and friends
Bonita J. Campbell speaking at the podium

Learn more about Dr. Bonita J. Campbell on our CSUN Leaders Oral Histories project and in this article from CSUN Today.