Exhibitions & Events Banner - Chinese New Year Exhibition

Exhibitions & Events: Past Exhibitions

C.K. and Teresa Tseng Exhibit Gallery

October 19, 2010 to July 22, 2011

One of a Kind: Celebrating Thirty-seven Years of Special Collections

For this exhibition, marking the thirty-seventh anniversary of the Library’s Special Collections, we have searched the vault for those one-of-a-kind pieces that have never or seldom been on display.  Here is your chance to see unique books, letters, costumes, maps, sculptures, paintings, engravings and manuscripts.

Library Lobby

February 9, 2011 to March 24, 2011

Obatala, creator deity

The exhibit commemorates the legacy of Black History Month and was created by CSUN students for what they describe as “our beautiful, multi-culturally diverse CSUN community.”

Library Lobby

November 1, 2010 to January 29, 2011

Richard Fish / photographer

In this exhibition, we are highlighting the work of Richard Fish (1919-2005), an accomplished photographer whose archive has been donated to the Oviatt Library by Marie Fish, his widow.  Fish was a prolific contributor of photographs and articles to such publications as the Los Angeles Times, Sunset magazine, House and Garden, the Chicago Sun-times Magazine, TV Guide and many others.

Library Lobby

August 18, 2010 to December 22, 2010

A Curious Spectrum: Exploring Autism

Mark Haddon’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time offers a young autistic boy’s unique perspective on everyday life as he tackles a canine murder mystery in suburban London. This exhibit examines autism and showcases individuals who have successfully overcome personal challenges with their extraordinary abilities. It also provides a context for protagonist Christopher’s adventures in and around London.

C.K. and Teresa Tseng Exhibit Gallery

September 8, 2009 to August 31, 2010

“Now Give Three Cheers” The Timeless Magic of Gilbert and Sullivan

Gilbert and Sullivan operas have been enjoyed by countless theater goers since they were first performed over 100 years ago. Their characters and music continue on in our culture in many ways. Come join us and be entranced by the David Trutt Gilbert and Sullivan Collection with its Peter Goffin posters, music scores, Bab Ballad books, theater programs, advertising cards, and other ephemera produced for fans of W.S. Gilbert and Arthur Sullivan. Curated by Tony Gardner.

Library Lobby

June 21, 2010 to August 13, 2010

Floating on Air – Kite Exhibition

Come explore the fascinating history and artistry of kites. Experience the feeling of flight with a riot of vibrant and colorful kites hung from the ceiling of the Oviatt Library’s Lobby.

Library Lobby

April 19, 2010 to June 12, 2010

Bindings and Books from the Guild of Bookworkers

The display showcases Bindings created by the members of the Guild of Bookworkers. The exhibit includes Botanica Magnifica (2009) by binder and artist Tini Miura. This exquisite book bound in morocco goat leather features thirty-three images of rare or extinct flowers and plants.

Library Lobby

February 8, 2010 to April 1, 2010

Cal State Northridge: Working toward a Sustainable Future

How is CSU, Northridge saving electricity plus creating energy? How are our recycling and water saving efforts contributing to a more sustainable campus?
 

Music & Media

December 23, 2009

The Soloist and the Art of the Cello

Supporting CSUN’s Common Reading Program, this exhibit illustrates passages from Steve Lopez’s account of passion and courage in The Soloist, plus highlights contemporary master cellists and explores the anatomy of the cello.

Library Lobby

May 13, 2009 to August 11, 2009

Painting the Sky with Kites

This exhibition brings together a celebration of one of the world’s most enduring inventions and pastimes—kites and kite flying. From the Chinese Han dynasty through today’s space age, kites made of leaves, paper, silk, plastic, fabric, mylar, bamboo and graphite have been used to catch fish, spy on enemies, send signals, divine the weather, explore the atmosphere, photograph the earth, tow boats, advertise products, acted as targets for bomb drops and to lift men and women into the wind.

Pages